The Allman Brothers Band took their final bow exactly nine years ago today at NYC’s The Beacon Theatre in 2014. Celebrating 45 years of music, the three original members in singer/organist Gregg Allman along with drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe, closed out their run with Derek Trucks, Warren Haynes, Oteil Burbridge, and Marc Quiñones. It was the longest-standing lineup the band had kept since the deaths of Duane Allman and Berry Oakley.

The night of October 28th was filled with three sets, two encores, and four emotional hours of music, ending around 1:30 a.m. on October 29th–which also marked the anniversary of ABB founder Duane Allman’s death. The show was the 238th straight sellout for the band at the Beacon Theatre. After tearing through their last performance of “Whipping Post”, the night came to an end when the seven members approached the front of the stage, and recalled the day it all began in Jacksonville, FL.

Gregg cited the precise date–March, 26th, 1969–then preached, “Never did I have any idea it could come to this…” The band ended their legendary run by sharing one final rendition of the first song they ever played together, Muddy Waters‘ “Trouble No More”.

Now, of course, the book has closed with the passing of original members Gregg Allman and Butch Trucks in 2018. The Allman Brothers Band, as we have all grown up to know it, is no longer, but their music–like the road–will go on forever.

Check out this video of Derek Trucks’ scorching solo in his final performance of “Whipping Post”, and listen to the full song here.

The Allman Brothers Band – “Whipping Post” – 10/28/14

[Video: Tom Pragliola]

Setlist: The Allman Brothers Band | The Beacon Theatre, New York, NY | 10/28/14

Set One: Little Martha, Mountain Jam, Don’t Want You No More, It’s Not My Cross To Bear, One Way Out, Good Morning Little Schoolgirl, Midnight Rider, The High Cost of Low Living, Hot ‘Lanta, Blue Sky, You Don’t Need Me

Set Two: Statesboro Blues, Ain’t Wastin Time No More, The Sky Is Crying, Dreams, Don’t Keep Me Wondering, In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (with drum solos)

Set Three: Melissa, Revival, Southbound, Mountain Jam, Will The Circle Be Unbroken, Mountain Jam (reprise)

Encore: Whipping Post, Trouble No More

[Originally published on 10/28/18]