Louis Cato is a force to be reckoned with in the music industry. The Grammy-nominated and internationally renowned multi-instrumentalist, producer, and songwriter has toured with the likes of Snarky Puppy, Marcus MillerJohn ScofieldGeorge Duke, and Bobby McFerrin and recorded with artists like BeyonceJack WhiteJohn LegendQ-tip, and more. In addition to these credentials, he’s also regularly performed on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, locking down a coveted spot as a member of the house band Jon Batiste and Stay Human.

Vulfpeck Covers Aretha Franklin, Welcomes Rachael Price & Louis Cato To Friday Show [Full-Set Audio]

While Cato boasts an enviable list of past and current collaborators and projects, on November 17th, he will add yet another accomplishment to the list with the release of his debut solo album, Starting Now. The upcoming record sees a different side of the critically acclaimed musician, with Cato taking on the role of singer-songwriter and offering a masterful eleven-track collection of upbeat, funk-pop songs that still tap into his soulful, gospel roots.

Cato said of his upcoming release, “When I set out to create this album, my sole purpose was to make an honest statement. Starting Now is me saying, ‘This is who I am and what I do. I’m a singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist that prioritizes writing good songs rather than flash or facility alone.'”

Watch James Casey, Natalie Cressman, Felix Pastorius, Louis Cato, & More Cover SBTRKT At Brooklyn Comes Alive

Today, Live For Live Music is proud to premiere a brand-new single off Starting Now, a smooth new tune titled “Down For You”. The song highlights Cato’s immense musicality, with the tune highlighting his earnest voice and augmented by a rolling, rumbling bassline and gorgeous harmonies. Louis Cato had this to say about the number, “‘Down For You’ was one of the most natural choruses I ever wrote lyrically. It speaks from a place of determined love; reassuring and even a bit self-encouraging, anyone in a committed relationship will find something in it.”

You can take a listen to the Live For Live Music world premiere of Louis Cato’s “Down For You” off his debut solo album, Starting Now–due out on November 17–below. To see Louis Cato in action, you can catch him live with The Nth Power and Ghost-Note at New York City’s Cutting Room on November 18th, where he’ll be featured as a special guest, or watch him on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert weeknights at 11:35 p.m. (EST).

Louis Cato’s Starting Now Tracklisting

1. introlude
2. in my reach
3. back and forth
4. down for you
5. starting now
6. light
7. anymore
8. se interlude
9. someone else
10. look within
11. se bonus