On April 21st, the beloved Colorado-based live-electronic trio SunSquabi performed the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre, co-headlining the iconic outdoor venue for the first-time ever along with Opiuo. During the packed-out performance, which served as a hometown throwdown for the band and fans, SunSquabi showcased their versatility, standout musicianship, and ever-evolving sound, proving why they are one of the most quickly rising ensembles on the scene.

On Friday, SunSquabi will officially release their newest full-length live album, Live At Red Rocks, which allows listeners to relive this historic performance from the band’s history. Across the 80-minute, 12-song set, the group offers an electric performance, heavy on danceable grooves and blistering guitar riffs. With contagious energy and boundary-pushing improvisations, the album is a must-hear for long-time fans and new listeners curious to see what the SunSquabi buzz is all about.

As Kevin Donohue explained, “Coming home from one of the best tours that we have ever been on and going straight into this show was a really incredible feeling.” He continued, “All of that fresh energy, as well as having our friends and family on stage with us that night, was truly the greatest feeling ever.”

During the band’s highly anticipated Red Rocks performance, the trio of Donohue (guitar, keys, production), Josh Fairman (bass, synth), and Chris Anderson (drums) augmented their lineup, inviting special guests to join them across the performance. Toward the end of the show, during takes on “Cinnamon”, “Just A Little”, and “Pygmy Up”, the band welcomed Nicholas Gerlach (saxophone), Will Trask (percussion), Eric Luba (keys), Leah Druzinsky (vocals), and Darryl Abrahamson (Trumpet), further bolstering SunSquabi’s powerful sound.

Live At Red Rocks features three unreleased tracks, giving listeners the opportunity to hear the tunes before studio renditions are formally released—incluing “Chrysalis” and “Night Moth”, the final two unreleased songs in a trio inspired by the biological process of metamorphosis that will get their official studio release on a full EP due out this fall. The show also opens with fan favorites like “Deluxe” and “Pablito” and closes with a stand-out, one-two hit of “Pangolin”, another previously unreleased track, and “Sticky”.

Live For Live Music is proud to present its readers with an early listen to SunSquabi’s Live At Red Rocks. You can listen to the premiere of Live At Red Rocks, plus check out the album’s tracklist, the show’s official video recap, and the band’s upcoming tour dates, below. For more information about the band and for ticketing, head to SunSquabi’s website here.


[Video: Chester Pink / SunSquabi]

‘Live at Red Rocks’ Track List

1. Deluxe
2. Pablito
3. Mob Boss
4. Caterpillar
5. Chrysalis
6. Night Moth
7. Tequila Mockingbird
8. Cinnamon*
9. Just A Little*
10. Pygmy Up*
11. Pangolin
12. Sticky

*Featuring Nicholas Gerlach (Saxophone), Will Trask (percussion), Eric Luba (keys), Leah Druzinsky (vocals), and Darryl Abrahamson (Trumpet)

View All Tracks


Upcoming SunSquabi Tour Dates

6.21.18 Electric Forest Festival, Rothbury MI
6.28.18 Electric Forest Festival, Rothbury MI
7.13.18 Camp Bisco, Scranton PA
7.20.18 Hullabaloo Festival, Bellevue NE
7.21.18 Crossroads, Kansas City MO
7.28.18 Taos Mothership, Taos NM
8.02.18 Summer Meltdown, Darrington WA
8.04.18 Kind Mind Campout, Norridgewock ME
8.17.18 Big What?!, Pittsboro NC
8.18.18 WaveSpell, Belden CA
8.24.18 Live on King St, Madison WI
9.15.18 Grandoozy, Denver CO
9.20.18 Resonance Music Festival, Thornville OH
10.6.18 Big Weekend, Chicago IL

View All Tour Dates