Athens, Georgia-based Perpetual Groove brought their winter tour to the sunny shores of South Florida this past weekend with two rockin’ shows at Fort Lauderdale’s Culture Room. A holiday tradition to many, the quartet has made The Culture Room its South Florida home since the late 1990’s. Featuring frontman Brock Butler on guitar and vocals, Adam Perry on bass, Matthew McDonald on keys, and Albert Suttle on drums, the band settled in quickly on Friday, first offering up a cover of Pearl Jam’s “Release” ahead of the P. Groove classic “Two Shores”.

Other highlights of the Friday night show included “Teakwood Betz”, P. Groove anthem “It Starts Where It Ends”, covers of Nine Inch Nails’ “Closer” and The Talking Heads’ “This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody)”, and a dance-worthy encore of Lionel Richie’s “All Night Long”. While Friday night’s set was chock full of well-placed covers, Saturday night’s show focused primarily on original Perpetual Groove music. Highlights included the first set’s “Stealy Man” and “3 Weeks”, the second set’s “Robot Waltz” and “TTFPJ”, and finally a “Sweet Oblivious Antidote” singalong to close out the weekend run.

South Florida’s Fugu offered opening band support on Friday night, while another hot up-and-coming South Florida jam band favorite, Guavatron opened the festivities on Saturday night. You can check out video highlights and full audio from both evenings provided by Cheesehead Productions in conjunction with Daniel Nolan.

Setlist: Perpetual Groove | Culture Room | Fort Lauderdale, FL | 12/15/2017

Set I: Release (Pearl Jam cover) > Two Shores, Sun Dog, BOA, Space Paranoids, AIM, Teakwood Betz

Set II: Mr. T, Echo, Closer (NIN cover), MWATA, It Starts Where It Ends, This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody), Mr. T

E: All Night Long (Lionel Richie cover)

Setlist: Perpetual Groove | Culture Room | Fort Lauderdale, FL | 12/16/2017

Set One: Black String, Orange Wedge, Paper Dolls, Stealy Man, Lemurs, 3 Weeks, Trouble

Set Two: Gorilla Monsoon, Cairo, Robot Waltz, Out Here, Playground, TTFPJ

E: Sweet Oblivious Antidote

P. Groove, “All Night Long”, 12/15/2017

P. Groove, “It Starts Where It Ends” > “Naive Melody”, 12/15/2017

P. Groove, “Two Shores”, 12/15/2017

P. Groove, “TTFPJ”, 12/16/2017

P. Groove, “Stealy Man”, 12/16/2017

P. Groove, “Sweet Oblivious Antidote”, 12/16/2017

Fugu, “Papercut”, 12/15/2017

Guavatron, “Get It On > Xilla > Gloopin'”, 12/16/2017

[Cover Photo: Adam Weissman]