2013 rock and roll hall of fame inductees
The Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame has announced this year’s inductees for the class of 2013, which will include Rush, Public Enemy, Randy Newman, Heart, Donna Summer, and Albert King. Lou Adler and Quincy Jones will both receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performers.

It seems like this year’s ceremony will go off with out controversy, as most inductees seem excited about their inclusion…although you can never be too sure with Public Enemy. Rush bassist Geddy Lee told Rolling Stone that, “It’s a terrific honor and we’ll show up smiling”, before thanking their hardcore fans saying, “It was a cause they championed…I’m very relieved by them and we share this honor with them, for sure.”

Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart were similarly relieved to hear the news, telling Rolling Stone “We’re always traveling and out there doing it. It can start to feel like you’re a tree falling in the forest, but nobody notices. So this kind of acknowledgement is really sweet.”

Randy Newman shared a similar delight, telling the magazine “I thought maybe I’d have to die before they let me in…I’m really glad it happened when I was still around to see it”.

Donna Summer and Albert King will receive their honor posthumously, while Public Enemy has yet to publicly comment.

Performers who were nominated but not inducted this year include Deep Purple, The Meters, N.W.A, Kraftwerk, and the Paul Butetterfield Blues Band. They’ll have another chance next year.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on April 18th at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, and then broadcast on HBO on May 18th. Tickets will be released to the public on January 25.