Five years after the release of IVBADBADNOTGOOD has announced its fifth album, Talk Memory. The new LP from the Canadian jazz ensemble is out on October 9th via XL Recordings.

The collab-friendly group has recruited a bevy of guest musicians for Talk Memory, including Arthur Verocai, Karriem Riggins, Terrace Martin, Laraaji, and Brandee Younger. BADBADNOTGOOD also brought on fashion designer Virgil Abloh to provide visuals, as well as his firm Alaska-Alaska for the album cover.

“It took a year or two of just living life to get to the place where the creative process was exciting again and once we actually went in to the studio it was the most concise recording and writing process we’ve ever had,” the group said in a statement. “We hope that the improvised studio performances bring the listener closer to our live experience.”

Related: Brittany Howard Recruits BADBADNOTGOOD, Little Dragon For ‘Jamie’ Remixes [Listen]

For the lead single, “Signal From The Noise”, BADBADNOTGOOD offers a sprawling jazz fusion soundtrack to an intriguingly bizarre music video. Both the video and nine-minute single may be too avante-garde when taken independently, but when put together they form a unique artistic statement that is accessible to even the most casual listener/viewer.

Watch the new music video for “Signal From The Noise” by BADBADNOTGOOD and click here to pre-order the band’s new album, Talk Memory, available on October 9th. Scroll down to see the full tracklist and album artwork.

BADBADNOTGOOD – “Signal From The Noise” (Official Video)


BADBADNOTGOOD Talk Memory Tracklist

01 “Signal From The Noise”
02 “Unfolding (Momentum 73)” (Feat. Laraajii)
03 “City of Mirrors” (Feat. Arthur Verocai)
04 “Beside April” (Feat. Karriem Riggins & Arthur Verocai)
05 “Love Proceeding” (Feat. Arthur Verocai)
06 “Open Channels” (Physical Only)
07 “Timid, Intimidating”
08 “Beside April Reprise” (Feat. Arthur Verocai)
09 “Talk Meaning” (Feat. Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin, & Brandee Younger)

View Tracklist