BTTRFLY Quintet on Friday shared the band’s second-ever single, “Buried Treasure”. The track comes in advance of the jazz/funk supergroup’s debut album, Coast, out on November 4th via Mocean Records.

The Denver-based ensemble features Lettuce bandmates Eric “Benny” Bloom (trumpet) and Adam Deitch (drums), as well as the drummer’s Break Science collaborators Borham Lee (keys) and Hunter Roberts (bass/album artwork). Big Gigantic producer/saxophonist Dominic Lalli rounds out the lineup that came together during the pandemic and played its first show at Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom to a socially distant crowd of 35 people in 2020.

Related: Neo-Soul Supergroup Midnight.Blue Releases Debut Album, ‘Breathe’ [Listen]

Following the title track released last month, “Buried Treasure” offers another glimpse of the stylistic melting pot that is BTTRFLY Quintet. Benny delivers a horn introduction that is pure Lettuce before the group takes the song into future jazz territory thanks to Lee’s twinkling keyboards. The entire project allows each member to explore something that is outside their usual purview, be it Lettuce’s space funk or Big Gigantic’s uptempo electronic dance music.

Stream BTTRFLY Quintet’s new single, “Buried Treasure”, below or on your preferred platform. The band will host a Coast album release party on November 4th at Ophelia’s Electric Soapbox in Denver. Tickets are on sale here.

BTTRFLY Quintet – “Buried Treasure”