Seminal funk bassist Bootsy Collins has released a new track, “Jam On”, featuring special guests Snoop Dogg and Brandon “Taz” Niederauer. The track is one of sixteen set to appear on Collins’ forthcoming album, The Power of The One, due out on Friday, October 23rd via Bootzilla Records / Sweetwater Studios.

On “Jam On”, Snoop makes himself at home quickly over Bootsy’s spacey bass grooves, rhyming with his swagger patented swagger over the distortion. “Working with Snoop is always like a breath of fresh air,” Collins told Rolling Stone. “He is always connected to the streets and the outer-more sensitive limits of the universe. Like a well-oiled machine, he’s always livin’ the dream.”

The Parliament-Funkadelic vibes are alive and strong on the tune thanks to Bootsy and Taz, the 17-year-old guitar phenom, whose nimble riffs are laced in throughout the song alongside backing vocals from Midnight Star’s Belinda Lipscomb.

As Niederauer tells Live For Live Music about the session with Collins for “Jam On”, which took place back in January, “It was such an honor to be asked to play on this record. Bootsy is an absolute legend, and to be in the studio with him was an amazing experience I’ll never forget.”

Snoop was not in the building for the session, though Bootsy told Rolling Stone it didn’t matter: “Snoop Dogg was so smooth with his thang, he could call in his part on the phone.”

Listen to “Jam On” by Bootsy Collins featuring Snoop Dogg and Brandon “Taz” Niederauer below and check out a clip of the forthcoming music video for the song, due out next Friday along with the album’s release.

Bootsy Collins ft. Snoop Dogg, Brandon “Taz” Niederauer – “Jam On”

Although The Power of The One won’t include a collaboration alongside Buckethead as Collins had hinted earlier this year or his recent “Stars” single featuring Dr. Cornel West, Steve Jordan, and Béla Fleck, the forthcoming project will feature an impressive mix of guest musicians. In addition to Snoop Dogg and Taz, The Power of The One also features Branford Marsalis, Victor Wooten, jazz guitarist George Benson, Dr. West, Christian McBrideChristone “KINGFISH” IngramLarry Graham.

Bootsy Collins will celebrate the release of The Power of the One with a livestream event billed as the Bootsy Collins Album Release Galactic Birthday Bash. The stream kicks off on October 23rd at 9 pm E.T. Stream tickets are available here.

Check out a full listing of tracks and guests on The Power of The One below:

Bootsy Collins – The Power of The One – Track Listing

  1. Funk Formula 1
  2. The Power of the One (feat. George Benson & Williams Singers)
  3. Slide Eazy (feat. Ellis Hall & Rod Castro)
  4. Creepin’ (feat. Christone “KINGFISH” Ingram
  5. Jam On (feat. Snoop Dogg & Brandon “Taz” Niederauer)
  6. Lips Turn Blue (feat. Emmaline)
  7. Funkship Area – 51 (feat. Christian McBride & Brother Nature)
  8. Bewise (feat. Robert “Bewise” Harding)
  9. Soul Not 4 Sale (feat. Hollywood Anderson)
  10. Club Funkateers (feat. Branford Marsalis, Danielle René Withers & Victor Wooten)
  11. Wantme2stay (feat. Uche Ndubizu, Branford Marsalis & Larry Graham)
  12. Funktropolis (feat. Johnny Davis & Brother Nature)
  13. Wishing Well (feat. Ellis Hall)
  14. Bootsy off Broadway (feat. Emmaline, Frankie Kash Waddy & Christian McBride)
  15. Stargate (feat. Ellis Hall, Victor Wooten, EmiSunshine & Dr. Cornel West)
  16. Stolen Dreams (feat. Rod Castro, Henry Invisible & Brother Nature)
View Track Listing and Guests