San Diego-based jam group Brothers Gow always goes big on New Year’s Eve, traversing musical times with their tradition of debuting mash ups from each decade prior to the new year ahead. This year was no exception, as the band debuted five incredible new pairings from 1967, 1977, 1987, 1997, and 2007 ahead of the countdown into 2017.

This year, the band took their Time Travel set a step further, including “Drunk History” style videos for each of the five decades that they tributed. For example, for the year 1967, they not only performed a mashup called “Respect a Soul Man” which included parts of “Respect” by Aretha Franklin (as written by Otis Redding) and “Soul Man” by Sam & Dave, but they also aired a “History of Rolling Stone Magazine” video in honor of the publication’s first issue.

Below, you can see the full pro-shot footage of the set, as well as descriptions of each of the five mashups and videos. We hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we do!

1967: “Respect a Soul Man”
Respect – Aretha Franklin | Soul Man – Sam & Dave

1977: “Jedi Cantina Moves”
Night Moves – Bob Seger | Cantina Band – Star Wars | Star Wars Theme

1987: “Never Gonna Let You Be Bad”
Bad – Michael Jackson | Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley

1997: “I Believe I Can Jam”
I Believe I Can Fly – R. Kelly | Space Jam – Urban Beatz Crew

2007: “Valerie” Ft. Molly Bastine on Vocals (Alex Bastine’s Sister)
Valerie – Amy Winehouse


1967 – “History of Rolling Stone Magazine”
History Lesson with: Jane Fritzenkotter

1977 – “History of Apple Computer”
History Lesson with: Annie Phillips Dean

1987 – “History of Nintendo”
History Lesson with: Zoe Goldman

1997 – “History of Heaven’s Gate”
History Lesson with: Lindsey Burke

2007 – “History of the band name Brothers Gow”
History Lesson with: Alex Gow Bastine

Brothers Gow consists of Alex Gow Bastine, Carson Church, Ethan Wade, Kyle Merrill, and Nathan Lamar Walsh Haines, as well as Lighting Director Matt Collier and Sound Engineer Kevin Rudnick. The band will be on the road with The Heavy Pets this winter, so don’t miss them on tour! For more about the band, you can head to their official website.