Bruce Hornsby has announced his next studio album, to be titled, Non-Secure Connection. The album is scheduled to arrive later this summer on August 14th.

The 10-track studio effort is set to feature guest appearances from artists including James Mercer (The Shins), Justin Vernon and Wayne Pooley (Bon Iver), Jamila Woods, Vernon Reid, and even a posthumous cameo from the late Leon Russell. Non-Secure Connection will be Hornsby’s second full-length studio effort in as many years following 2019’s Absolute Zero.

Related: Grateful Dead To Air 1991 Shoreline Amphitheatre Show For ‘Shakedown Stream’ Ft. Pre-Show Q&A With Bruce Hornsby [Watch]

“The new album’s chromaticism and dissonance quotient is exactly twice as high (three songs featuring that language compared to one and a half on the last record),” Hornsby added in a statement about his forthcoming album with Wednesday’s announcement. “I feel like my music has never been a part of any trend that defined any era of music during my 34 years of doing this. I may be wrong, but that’s how it feels to me.”

Hornsby also released the album’s lead single on Wednesday entitled, “My Resolve”, which also features James Mercer. Listen to the strings-heavy song below:

Bruce Hornsby & James Mercer – “My Resolve”

[Video: Bruce Hornsby]

While most of the songs to be featured on Non-Secure Connection are new, some were unearthed from previous sessions for the release. “Anything Can Happen”, for example, was written and tracked as a demo by Hornsby alongside Leon Russell 25 years ago.

Hornsby recently shared a trio of 2019 performances for fans to download or stream for free as the live events industry remains on indefinite hiatus. Hornby has since been forced to postpone the final remaining dates of his 2020 spring tour.

Click here for album pre-order info, and scroll down for tracklisting and cover art.

Bruce Hornsby Non-Secure Connection Tracklist

1. Cleopatra Drones
2. Time, The Thief
3. Non-Secure Connection
4. The Rat King (featuring Rob Moose)
5. My Resolve (featuring James Mercer)
6. Bright Star Cast (featuring Jamila Woods and Vernon Reid)
7. Shit’s Crazy Out Here
8. Anything Can Happen (featuring Leon Russell)
9. Porn Hour
10. No Limits

bruce hornsby, bruce hornsby 2020, bruce hornsby non-secure connection, bruce hornsby spotify, bruce hornsby youtube, bruce hornsby james mercer, bruce hornsby leon russell, bruce hornsby album