Bruce Springsteen has announced the release of Western Stars – Songs From The Film, which is due out on October 25th via Columbia Records. The forthcoming soundtrack’s release will coincide with the premiere of the film of the same name and features live performances of every song off of Springsteen’s recently released Western Stars album, in addition to a cover of Glen Campbell’s “Rhinestone Cowboy”.

Western Stars marks Springsteen’s first collection of new, original songs since 2012’s Wrecking Ball. He also released an album of covers and re-worked originals, High Hopes, in 2014. Co-director by Springsteen and longtime collaborator Thom Zinn, the forthcoming film highlights The Boss performing the songs from his new album with his wife, Patti Scialfa, an orchestra, and more at Colts Neck, NJ’s Stone Hill Farm, the singer/songwriter’s own ranch. The new soundtrack features each of the live performances captured in Springsteen’s directorial debut, Western Stars.

Springsteen shared his thoughts at the Toronto International Film Festival, where the Western Stars film premiered. He explained,

I think ending up in the barn had a lot to do with the way the thing felt, you know? It was just kind of gritty and intimate. It was very intimate, which is what a lot of the songs are.

Watch the trailer for Western Stars below:

Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars [Trailer]

[Video: Warner Bros. Pictures]

Pre-orders for Western Stars – Songs From The Film begins on Friday, September 27th here.

Western Stars – Songs From The Film Tracklist:

  1. Hitch Hikin’
  2. The Wayfarer
  3. Tucson Train
  4. Western Stars
  5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
  6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
  7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
  8. Sundown
  9. Somewhere North of Nashville
  10. Stones
  11. There Goes My Miracle
  12. Hello Sunshine
  13. Moonlight Motel
  14. Rhinestone Cowboy
View Tracklist