Chicano Batman frontman Bardo Martinez has revealed details for his debut solo album as BARDOEverywhere Reminds Me Of Space. The album is out on July 23rd via Bardo’s own Yemayá Sol Records label.

On the debut single, “Patterns Of Being”, the singer’s vocals are instantly recognizable as listeners are dropped into a familiar sound space. As the song develops, however, it’s clear that what BARDO is doing is fundamentally different from his work in Chicano Batman. Instead of the textured layers found throughout the indie, psych-pop outfit’s catalog, BARDO instead opts for a more basic, beat-oriented approach. The self-produced 11-track album will also see BARDO explore diverse hip-hop influences as he travels outside the parameters of Chicano Batman.

“I walk the Earth in search of a place, EVERYWHERE REMINDS ME OF SPACE. This lyric from the song ‘Neon Light’ made its way to become the title of this sonic menagerie that took me years to transform into a coherent body of work,” BARDO said in a press release. “With this record I wanted to showcase the beats and spoken word cinematic vision quests along with some tunes I had stashed away in the vault. A little casio keyboard, a maestro echoplex, and my monophonic synths were tracked all over the record in order to keep it together. Many artists delve into the ether with existential quandaries about life, love, and nature; I am no exception. Looking up and around is what keeps me sane; after all, it’s only gravity that keeps us grounded.”

Related: Chicano Batman Shares “Paranoid” Cover From SiriusXMU Sessions Performance [Listen]

Listen to “Patterns Of Being”, the lead single from the debut BARDO album, Everything Reminds Me Of Space. Scroll down to see a full tracklist and album art and click here to pre-order. Chicano Batman will embark on a 22-date fall/winter tour beginning in October.

BARDO – “Patterns Of Being”

[Video: Bardo Martinez]

Everything Reminds Me Of Space Tracklist

01 Take My Hand
02 All Into the Red
03 Monday Morning
04 Miles Under Water
05 Sun Woman
06 Interlude
07 Patterns of Being
08 Neon Light
09 How the Rhythm Came to Be
10 Saturn
11 New Day

View Tracklist