Chicano Batman has announced the forthcoming release of their next studio album, to be titled, Invisible People, and scheduled to arrive this spring on May 1st via ATO.

Invisible People will mark the band’s fourth album overall, and their first since 2017’s Freedom Is Free. Chicano has teamed up with famed audio engineer Shawn Everett, known for his work with Alabama Shakes, Kacey Musgraves, and more. Additionally, the band brought back producer Leon Michels, who produced Freedom Is Free and, more recently, Marco Benevento‘s 2019 album Let It Slide.

Related: Chicano Batman, Caloncho Team Up For New Singles, Share Colorful Video For “Háblame” [Watch]

The soulful, psychedelic-rock outfit shared the album’s lead single to go with Tuesday’s album announcement, entitled, “Color my Life”. The new recording hears Chicano Batman taking a more simplistic approach compared to past flurries of instrumentation. Instead, the single is more beat-oriented as the band also experiments with various effects and layers of rhythms.

The song’s music video showcases the band members clowning around their native Los Angeles, while buckets of paint dump over bassist Eduardo Arenas‘ like that of a Nickelodeon-esque slime gag. This goes hand-in-hand with the song’s refrain, “You’ve got to color my life, fill in my thoughts.”

Check out the new music video for “Color my Life” below.

Chicano Batman – “Color my Life” (Official Music Video)

[Video: Chicano Batman]

As if the album and single weren’t enough, Chicano Batman also shared the details for a nationwide tour set to begin in April. The run of mostly North American performances begins with a concert at Meow Wolf in Santa Fe, NM on April 8th, and continues into the early summer months until June 27th following a show at the 9:30 Club in Washington, D.C. The band will be joined in support on select dates by Crumb and Le Butcherettes.

Tickets for Chicano Batman’s upcoming tour on Friday, February 28th at 10 a.m. local time. Head to the band’s website for tickets and album pre-order info. Scroll down to check out the full listing of tour dates and the album’s tracklisting.

Chicano Batman Invisible People Tracklist

1. Color My Life
2. Blank Slate
3. I Know It
4. Invisible People
5. Manuel’s Story
6. Moment of Joy
7. Pink Elephant
8. Polymetronomic Harmony
9. The Way
10. The Prophet
11. Bella
12. Wounds


chicano batman 2020 tour