London Souls drummer Chris St. Hilaire is gearing up for the forthcoming release of his debut solo album, Knowledge of Self. The five-track EP from the rock drummer is due out independently next Friday, August 30th.

Related: Anders Osborne Welcomes London Souls’ Tash Neal To Close Out Brooklyn Bowl Run

Hilaire, who has primarily been part of Sinkane‘s live band so far in 2019, wrote and recorded Knowledge of Self in its entirety over a period of five years, and played all of the instruments heard on the album, according to the announcement.

“A few of the songs are dealing with some very heavy topics, and some of them are just love songs,” St. Hilaire mentioned about his forthcoming project in a statement to go with the album’s announcement. “I wanted it to be an accurate representation of some of the experiences that I went through. The story that I wanted to tell was my own self examination through experiences, whether it was through relationships, romantic or otherwise, and reflections on what I see in the world.”

St. Hilaire has already released the lead track to appear on the album with the Dan Auerbach-produced feel-good single, “Up All Night”. Listen to the lively new tune below.

Chris St. Hilaire – “Up All Night”

[Video: Christopher St. Hilaire]

“The skills that I developed in The London Souls, and in many other musical projects, gave me the ability to support the song in whatever capacity was needed,” St. Hilaire also added. “So, when I turned those support skills onto my own music, it opened up a whole new world of what was possible.”

St. Hilaire is currently on tour with Doyle Bramhall II throughout the remainder of August, after which he’ll rejoin Sinkane for a lengthy run of shows throughout the fall months.

Head to St. Hilaire’s website for more info.

Knowledge of Self Tracklisting

1. Strangers at Home
2. Up All Night
3. Aurelie
4. I Got Love
5. Unify

View Album Tracklisting