Courtney Barnett has announced details for her third album, Things Take Time, Take Time, and previewed it with the lead single, “Rae Street”. Things Take Time, Take Time will arrive on November 12th via Mom+Pop Music/Marathon Artists.

Recorded in late 2020 and early 2021 in Sydney, Northern New South Wales, and Melbourne with producer/drummer Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint, Cate le Bon, Kurt Vile), Things Take Time represents another step forward for Barnett. In what is described in a press release as “Courtney 2.0,” the singer-songwriter approached the album with a new stylistic outlook that builds on her past discography. While Things Take Time still hosts the brutally honest lyricism that has defined the Australian musician’s career, the new album points to the inherent beauty of the world and is less awash in some of the rage that defined her earlier work.

That mellowing out is immediately apparent on the album’s lead single, “Rae Street”. Along with an accompanying music video, the song paints a modern Norman Rockwell picture of the idyllic small-town neighborhood. With neighbors waving to each other from the street and children playing in their well-trimmed yards, there’s almost an expectation for the bottom to drop out at any moment and for Barnett to lay into some searing, overdrive-laden grunge power chords. Instead, however, Courtney fosters a feeling of security in familiar territory as she signals the start to her next artistic evolution.

Related: Courtney Barnett Announces 2021/2022 North American Tour [Video]

Watch the music video for “Rae Street” off the forthcoming Courtney Barnett album Things Take Time, Take Time. The album is available for pre-order here physically and digitally. Scroll down to see the full tracklist and album artwork.

Courtney Barnett – “Rae Street” (Official Video)

[Video: courtneybarnett]

Things Take Time, Take Time Tracklist

1. Rae Street

2. Sunfair Sundown

3. Here’s the Thing

4. Before You Gotta Go

5. Turning Green

6. Take it Day By Day

7. If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight

8. Write a List of Things to Look Forward To

9. Splendour

10. Oh the Night

View Tracklist