The Width of a Circle, a new posthumous David Bowie album comprised of unreleased tracks from his The Man Who Sold The World era, is due for release on May 28th via Parlophone.

The new release comes in continued celebration of the 50th anniversary of The Man Who Sold The World, Bowie’s landmark entry into the 1970s. Last year, Bowie’s estate re-released the album under its original name, Metrobolist (so the story goes, the label changed the album’s name without Bowie’s permission ahead of its initial release). The re-release also featured a new mix by the album’s original producer, Tony Visconti.

Related: A Lyrical Interpretation Of ★ As David Bowie’s Final Masterpiece

The album marked the beginning of a fruitful creative relationship with guitarist Mick Ronson, who would go on to play on iconic albums like Hunky Dory, The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars, and Aladdin Sane over the ensuing years.

Taking its name from the title of its opening track, The Width of a Circle serves as a companion to the remixed Metrobolist, with 21 tracks from the era including non-album singles, a BBC In Concert session, music for a TV play, and additional Visconti remixes. With this collection, Visconti aims to “[wrap] up David’s recordings from 1970 and [reveal] the first sonic steps toward Hunky Dory.”

Alongside the May 28th release of The Width of a Circle, the David Bowie estate will release a picture disc version of The Man Who Sold The World featuring “striking black and white imagery of the 1972 reissue.”

Scroll down to check out preview clips and a full track listing for the new posthumous David Bowie album, The Width of a Circle.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by David Bowie (@davidbowie)


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by David Bowie (@davidbowie)

David Bowie – The Width Of A Circle – Track Listing

CD 1:

Recorded on 5th February, 1970 and broadcast on 8th February, 1970

Amsterdam *
God Knows I’m Good *
Buzz The Fuzz
Karma Man
London Bye, Ta-Ta
An Occasional Dream
The Width Of A Circle*
Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed*
Fill Your Heart
The Prettiest Star
Cygnet Committee*
Memory Of A Free Festival*

Notes: Performed by David Bowie and The Tony Visconti Trio (a.k.a. The Hype)

CD 2:


When I Live My Dream
The Mirror
Threepenny Pierrot
When I Live My Dream (Reprise)


The Prettiest Star (Alternative Mix)
Single mix released on 6th March, 1970 on Mercury Records MF 1135. This is the unreleased alternative mix created for promotion in the US market.

London Bye, Ta-Ta*
Originally recorded and rejected as the follow up single to ‘Space Oddity’. This mono mix was finally released on the Sound & Vision box set in 1989.

London Bye, Ta-Ta (1970 Stereo Mix)*
This stereo mix of the above remained unreleased until the reformatted reissue of the Sound & Vision box set in 2003, replacing the mono mix.

Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version Part 1)*
Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version Part 2)*
The re-recorded electric version of the closing track from the David Bowie (aka Space Oddity) album released as a single on Mercury Records 6052 026 on 26th June, 1970.

Holy Holy*
This non-album single A side, backed by the album version of ‘Black Country Rock’ from The Man Who Sold The World album, was released on Mercury Records 6052 049 on 15th January, 1971.


Recorded on 25th March, 1970 and broadcast on the 6th April, 1970

Waiting For The Man
The Width Of A Circle
The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud*
The Supermen (Bowie At The Beeb vinyl only)*
Performed by David Bowie and The Hype
2020 MIXES
The Prettiest Star (2020 Mix)
London Bye, Ta-Ta (2020 Mix)
Memory Of A Free Festival (Single Version – 2020 Mix)
All The Madmen (Single Edit 2020 Mix)
Holy Holy (2020 Mix)

(*denotes previously released)

THE WIDTH OF A CIRCLE 10” SINGLE & 96/24 digital E.P.

Available only from the official David Bowie store.

Side 1
1. The Prettiest Star (2020 Mix)
2. London Bye, Ta-Ta (2020 Mix)
Side 2
1. Memory Of A Free Festival (2020 Mix)
2. Holy Holy (2020 Mix)

View Track Listing