David Crosby will turn 80 later this summer, but the musician shows no signs of slowing down. On Thursday, the countercultural icon announced his latest solo album, For Free, as well as released the lead single, “River Rise”, featuring Michael McDonaldFor Free is out on July 23rd via BMG.

Crosby’s fifth solo album since his 2014 comeback record Croz takes its name from a Joni Mitchell cover featured on the album. Crosby has never been hesitant to lavish praise on his longtime friend, frequent collaborator, and former “old lady.”

“Joni’s the greatest living singer/songwriter, and ‘For Free’ is one of her simplest,” Crosby said. “It’s one of my favorite songs because I love what it says about the spirit of music and what compels you to play.”

Related: David Crosby Answers Questions On Love, Marriage, “The Talk”, More For ‘Ask Croz’

In addition to McDonald, For Free features contributions from Donald Fagen (Steely Dan) and Sarah Jarosz, the latter of whom provides vocals on the Joni Mitchell cover that serves as the title track. For Free is also a family affair, with Crosby’s son James Raymond producing once again following his work on his father’s 2017 album, Sky Trails.

From the opening piano ride of “River Rise”, the song takes on a certain Jackson Browne quality reminiscent of the 1970s Laurel Canyon movement. The song is all Crosby, however, as the opinionated-as-always singer-songwriter tells of rising voices in places like California as the rivers of change rise up to meet a new generation.

Listen to “River Rise”, off the forthcoming David Crosby album For Free. Scroll down to see a full tracklist and album art.

David Crosby – “River Rise”

[Video: David Crosby]

David Crosby For Free Tracklist

“River Rise”
“I Think I”
“The Other Side Of Midnight”
“Rodriguez For A Night”
“Secret Dancer”
“Ships In The Night”
“For Free”
“Shot At Me”
“I Won’t Stay For Long”

View Tracklist

[H/T Brooklyn Vegan]