New Orleans funk outfit Dumpstaphunk has released a new cover of Buddy Miles classic “United Nations Stomp” featuring guitarist Marcus King. The reimagined version of the acid-fueled blues anthem, which has long been a staple of the band’s live sets, marks the third single release from Dumpstaphunk’s first new album in seven years, Where Do We Go From Here, due out on April 23rd, 2021. Previously shared singles include the album’s timely title track and an updated version of “Justice” featuring Chali 2na and Trombone Shorty.

Searing lead guitar courtesy of Marcus King lights the fuse on the vintage jam, evoking the singular stylings of Miles Band of Gypsys cohort, Jimi Hendrix, with an added layer of urgency indicative of the turbulent times in which we live today. The new lyric video for the track, animated by Mateusz Kijak, capitalizes on the psychedelic aesthetic with phase-shifting, technicolor visuals as the song powers toward a howling climax.

Related: Oteil Burbridge & Dumpstaphunk Bring Music & Magic Back To Suwannee [Photos/Audio]

The track, mixed by Beastie Boys producer, Mario Caldato Jr., also features guitar legend Waddy Wachtel (Keith Richards, Rolling Stones, Stevie Nicks). Explains guitarist/bassist Tony Hall, who sings lead on the track, “First, I’m a big fan of Buddy Miles. I like the groove and the line you can dance to the rhythm of a funky beat! With a strong message, it talks about peace, love and harmony – something we all need today.”

Pre-order your copy of the new Dumpstaphunk album here and check out the trippy lyric video for “United Nations Stomp” featuring Marcus King below.

Dumpstaphunk ft. Marcus King – “United Nations Stomp” (Buddy Miles) – Official Lyric Video

[Video: Dumpstaphunk]

Check out a full tracklisting for Dumpstaphunk’s Where Do We Go From Here below.

Dumpstaphunk – Where Do We Go From Here – Tracklist

1. United Nations Stomp
2. Make It After All
3. Backwash
4. Let’s Get At
5. Where Do We Go From Here
6. Itchy Boo
7. In Time
8. Do You
9. Dumpstamental
10. Sounds
11. Justice 2020 (feat. Chali 2na & Trombone Shorty)

View Tracklist

Dumpstaphunk Where Do We Go From Here 2021, Dumpstaphunk Marcus King, Dumpstaphunk Funk, Dumpstaphunk 2021, Dumpstaphunk music, Dumpstaphunk album