Elvis Costello & The Imposters have shared “Farewell, OK”, the third single from the band’s forthcoming album, The Boy Named If. Due out on January 22nd via EMI/Capitol RecordsThe Boy Named If will mark Costello’s sixth release since October 2020.

“Farewell, OK” follows December’s release of “Paint The Red Rose Blue” and October’s “Magnificent Hurt“, marking the final offering before the album’s official release. Lyrically somber, Costello sings of shutting the door on a relationship that has spent too long on the rocks. He hints at infidelity, describes the melancholic image of a “mascara cry”, and admits “I thought you’d change/Get a little humble”, while the song’s refrain, “farewell, OK”, returns over and over and reinforces his commitment to moving on.

Musically, of course, the track arrives just as one would expect from Costello: high energy, unadulterated, blistering rock n’ roll. An ambitious rhythm section serves as a canvas for heavily distorted guitar and thrilling vocals, while Steve Nieve adds symphonic melodies on his keyboards. Clocking in at 3:03, “Farewell, OK” is a potent telling from Costello, who shows a new side of himself both on the single and album as a whole.

“Like a lot of good rock and roll songs this began with a drummer down in a basement and a singer howling outside the backdoor”, says Costello in a press release. “It’s a blurred gaze, a drink too much, an accidental punch and a kiss goodnight all in the tumult of a dancehall”.

In a press release alongside the album’s announcement, Costello expounds, “The full title of this record is ‘The Boy Named If (And Other Children’s Stories).’ ‘IF,’ is a nickname for your imaginary friend; your secret self, the one who knows everything you deny, the one you blame for the shattered crockery and the hearts you break, even your own. You can hear more about this ‘Boy’ in a song of the same name.”

Listen to “Farewell, OK” by Elvis Costello & The Imposters on the platform of your choice and pre-order The Boy Named If here. It will be available on vinyl, compact disc, and cassette formats, as well as an 88-page hardback storybook edition, numbered and signed by Costello. This edition features 13 illustrated short stories, which have the same titles as the songs on the record. Some of these fables set the scene for the songs, others are sequels, or a clue or hint to what might have been going on before the music began.

Check out a lyric video for “Farewell, OK” and a full The Boy Named If tracklist below.

Elvis Costello & The Imposters – “Farewell, OK” (Lyric Video)

Elvis Costello & The Imposters The Boy Named If Tracklist

1. Farewell, OK

2. The Boy Named If

3. Penelope Halfpenny

4. The Difference

5. What If I Can’t Give You Anything But Love?

6. Paint The Red Rose Blue

7. Mistook Me For A Friend

8. My Most Beautiful Mistake (guest vocal by Nicole Atkins)

9. Magnificent Hurt

10. The Man You Love To Hate

11. The Death Of Magic Thinking

12. Trick Out The Truth

13. Mr. Crescent

View Tracklist