Eric Krasno has premiered a new single and music video for “Lost Myself”. This latest offering serves as the fifth single from his forthcoming album, Always, due out on February 4th via Mascott Label Group.

Arriving with horns from Jazz Mafia, infectious handclaps, and a foot-tapping bassline, “Lost Myself” keeps the listener in a perpetual state of groove throughout its 3:31 runtime. More than just an engaging and danceable tune, the new single hears Kraz singing about the change that occurs within ourselves when finding true love.

While “it’s the funkiest track on the album,” according to the multi-hyphenate frontman, it’s also “about losing your ego when you find someone who works for you.”

Krasno’s eponymous lyrics on the chorus, “I lost myself when I found you,” highlight this sentiment, but it’s a theme that surfaces throughout the album, evident on previously released singles like “So Cold“, “Silence“, “Alone Together“, and “Leave Me Alone“. Always as a whole hears Kraz focusing on the loyal permanence of family ties, defining himself as more than just a Lettuce and Soulive co-founder, singer, multi-instrumentalist, and two-time Grammy award winner, but as a husband, father, and man.

“Before 2020, I was having a good time, but I wasn’t grounded at all,” said Krasno in a press release alongside the album’s announcement. “I was going from gig to gig. I was always running around without a purpose. During the last year, I found my people in terms of my wife and son. I’ve created a family who will always be there for me. That’s what the album is about.”

After collaborating with Otis McDonald on a recording of Bob Dylan‘s “The Man In Me”, Krasno knew he had found the perfect co-producer for his fourth solo album.

Related: Eric Krasno, Son Little Announce 2022 Co-Headlining Tour With The Assembly

“My wife and I got married, bought a house, and had a baby,” said Krasno in a press release. “I had heard the song many times before, but it had never quite hit me the way it was hitting me. I recorded it with just acoustic guitar and vocals, and I loved what Otis did to it. He sent it back to me, and I thought, ‘This is exactly how I want to make my next record.'”

Recording first virtually and then at the Bay Area’s legendary Hyde Street Studios—famous for hosting the likes of 2Pac, the Grateful Dead, and Digital Underground—Krasno and McDonald tapped into a shared spirit as co-producers, recording the record and ultimately forming Eric Krasno & The Assembly with Otis on bass, Wil Blades on keys and organ, Curtis Kelly on drums, and James VIII on guitar and vocals. The band has since booked a number of live gigs.

“In the past, I personally just felt like I was a guitarist, songwriter, and a producer,” said Krasno. “Now, I feel like a fully formed artist.”

Listen to “Lost Myself” by Eric Krasno on Spotify and pre-order Always here. Check out the official music video and a full Always tracklist below.

Eric Krasno – “Lost Myself” [Official Music Video]

Krasno recently announced a co-headlining winter tour with Son Little which will kick off on February 18th at Washington’s in Fort Collins, CO. Head to his website for tickets and a full list of 2022 tour dates.

Eric Krasno – Always – Tracklist

1. Silence
2. So Cold
3. Lost Myself
4. Man in Me
5. Alone Together
6. Where I Belong
7. Leave Me Alone
8. Good Thing
9. Hold Tight
10. Always With You

View Tracklist