After over a year of grieving and introspection, Foo Fighters are back with their reflections on life and loss with a new album, But Here We Are. Out on June 2nd via Roswell Records and RCA Records, the album marks the band’s first since the sudden passing of drummer Taylor Hawkins in March 2022.

Foo Fighters described But Here We Are as “the first chapter of the band’s new life,” calling it “the sound of brothers finding refuge in the music that brought them together in the first place 28 years ago, a process that was as therapeutic as it was about a continuation of life.” But Here We Are marks a cyclical journey for the band, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear especially, as Foo Fighters once again becomes a cathartic way to communally process grief at high decibels. Grohl originally formed the band in 1994 following the death of his Nirvana bandmate Kurt Cobain.

Along with the new album announcement, Foo Fighters shared the lead single “Rescued”. The band’s first release of any kind since Hawkins was found dead at age 50 while the Foos were on tour in Bogotá, the song finds the band working through the anger stage of the grieving process. Even through that rage, Grohl’s lyrics present a vulnerable clarity as he pleads to be “Rescued” tonight.

Related: New Venue The Atlantis To Open In D.C. With Intimate Foo Fighters Show

Produced by Foo Fighters and longtime collaborator Greg Kurstin, But Here We Are is available here for pre-order. See the full tracklist and album artwork below. Foo Fighters will return to touring for the first time since Hawkins’ death this summer with a mix of high-profile festival appearances at BonnarooBoston Calling, and others alongside headlining shows. The band has not yet announced who is playing drums, though Pearl Jam‘s Matt Cameron is adamant it is not him. Tickets and a full list of tour dates are available on the band’s website.

Foo Fighters – “Rescued”

But Here We Are Tracklist:
01. Rescued
02. Under You
03. Hearing Voices
04. But Here We Are
05. The Glass
06. Nothing At All
07. Show Me How
08. Beyond Me
09. The Teacher
10. Rest

View Tracklist