During last night’s episode of Saturday Night Live, musical guest Foo Fighters took the opportunity to debut “Shame Shame” from their new album. The new record—also announced on Saturday—is titled Medicine at Midnight and is out on February 5th, 2021 via Roswell Records/RCA.

The November 7th episode of SNL featured the venerable alt-rockers performing in support of host Dave Chappelle. In a fortuitous twist, Saturday was also the day that Joe Biden was declared the winner of the 2020 presidential election, likely resulting in an increased viewership which made this the ideal opportunity for Dave Grohl and co. to share their new music.

Related: Dave Grohl Writes Theme Song For “Superhero” Nandi Bushell [Watch]

“Shame Shame” starts off sparing, with the song built around pulsating beats. For the first verse, Grohl is just focused on his vocals as the rhythm is controlled by his fellow guitarists Christopher Shiflett and Pat Smear. Along with the help of a pair of backup vocalists, the song takes a delicate and lyrical approach which displays an added layer of depth that is hopefully present throughout the band’s 10th studio endeavor.

Foo Fighters also performed “Times Like These” from their 2002 album One By One. Though the song came out nearly two decades ago, the lyrical reflection on modern times hasn’t aged a day.

Watch Foo Fighters perform “Shame Shame” and “Times Like These” on Saturday Night Live.

Foo Fighters – “Shame Shame”

Foo Fighters – “Times Like These”

[Video: Saturday Night Live]

Medicine at Midnight was produced by Greg Kurstin and Foo Fighters, engineered by Darrell Thorp and mixed by Mark “Spike” Stent, and features nine songs on a 37-minute record. See the full tracklist below.

Medicine at Midnight Tracklist

01 Making a Fire
02 Shame Shame
03 Cloudspotter
04 Waiting on a War
05 Medicine at Midnight
06 No Son of Mine
07 Holding Poison
08 Chasing Birds
09 Love Dies Young

View Tracklist