Huey Lewis and The News is making news this week as the veteran rock band which broke out of the San Francisco music scene in the 1980s has announced their first studio album of new material since 2001.

The seven-track studio project to be titled, Weather, is due out February 14th on BMG. The self-produced album will feature six new original songs, in addition to the band’s cover of Eugene Church‘s “Pretty Girls Everywhere”.

Related: How Bill Graham Became A Legend Of The San Francisco Music Scene

Weather was recorded at the band’s Troutfarm Studio in Marin County, CA with the assistance of engineer Bob Clearmountain, who has worked closely with Huey Lewis and The News in years past on tracks like “Do You Believe In Love”, “The Heart Of Rock & Roll”, “I Want A New Drug”, and “If This Is It.”

To go with the album’s overall announcement on Thursday, the band shared the latest single to appear on Weather with a feel-good, nostalgic rock track titled, “While We’re Young”. The 3:42-minute single bounces along with youthful pep and plenty of catchy horns to keep up with Lewis’ trademark vocals.

Listen to the new recording below.

Huey Lewis And The News – “While We’re Young”

[Video: hueylewisofficial]

The studio recording of “While We’re Young” may be new, but the band has been road testing the song in front of live audiences for a few years now. Watch a performance of “While We’re Young” during a Brooklyn concert back in June 2013 below.

Huey Lewis And The News – “While We’re Young” – 8/15/13

[Video: nycejp]

News of the album’s forthcoming arrival should also allow for a sigh of relief for fans, as just last year Huey Lewis and company were forced to cancel almost an entire summer’s worth of tour dates, including a headlining slot at the 2018 Outside Lands Music Festival. At the time of cancelation, Lewis had been unable to hear properly for two-and-a-half months due to complications from Meniere’s disease.

Lewis and the band seem to be back at full strength now with a new album on the horizon. Scroll down for the full tracking to appear on Weather when the album arrives early next year.

Weather Tracklist

1. “While We’re Young”
2. “Her Love Is Killin’ Me”
3. “I Am There For You”
4. “Hurry Back Baby”
5. “Remind Me Why I Love You Again”
6. “Pretty Girls Everywhere”
7. “One Of The Boys”

View Album Tracklist