Some of alternative music’s best and brightest have come together for a new tribute album set to celebrate The Velvet Underground & Nico‘s groundbreaking 1967 self-titled debut. I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico is out on September 24th via Verve.

Set to appear on I’ll Be Your Mirror are Courtney Barnett, Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney, Michael Stipe (R.E.M.), Kurt Vile & The Violators, St Vincent & Thomas Bartlett, Sharon Van Etten with Angel Olsen, Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie, Andrew Bird & Lucius, Fontaines DC, Matt Berninger (The National), and King Princess.

Related: The National’s Matt Berninger Covers The Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting For The Man” On ‘Fallon’ [Watch]

Along with the announcement, Verve has shared the first preview of the album with Kurt Vile & The Violators’ “Run Run Run”. The cover puts a decidedly modern spin on the album that laid the groundwork for lo-fi garage rock, updating it for the 21st century with a more polished sound.

“I literally covered ‘Run Run Run’ when I was a kid,” Vile said in a statement. “In my late teens with my band at the time. So it was pretty cosmic, let’s say. There is a direct connection to certain indie bands and beyond w/ the Velvets. That’s why the Velvets are a classic. You know it can have doo-wop in there and things like that, but it can also have this jagged noisy thing, and it immediately let me feel like I could do anything. The possibilities are endless. You’re completely free. Unapologetic and effortless.”

Listen to Kurt Vile & The Violators cover “Run Run Run” below and scroll down to see the full I’ll Be Your Mirror tracklist and album art. I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico is available here for pre-order.

Kurt Vile & The Violators – “Run Run Run” (The Velvet Underground & Nico)

[Video: Kurt Vile]

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico Tracklist

01 Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe
02 I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger
03 Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (w/ Angel Olsen on backing vocals)
04 Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius
05 Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & the Violators
06 All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
07 Heroin– Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie
08 There She Goes Again – King Princess
09 I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett
10 The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C.
11 European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney

View Tracklist

[H/T Brooklyn Vegan]