The new Netflix documentary on former First Lady Michelle Obama features a score composed by lauded jazz saxophonist and bandleader Kamasi Washington. Becoming, directed by Nadia Hallgren and produced by Higher Ground Productions, arrives on Netflix today, May 6th. Kamasi’s score for the film features new original music from Washington as well as assorted selections from his recorded catalog.

“Working with Kamasi Washington on the musical score for Becoming was a dream come true,” said Hallgren, who recruited Washington’s services early in the film’s development process. “Not only is Kamasi a masterful musician, he also has a unique sensitivity that he pours into his music. His music reaches deeply into your soul. Mrs. Obama loves music, and when I read the line in her book ‘And heaven, as I envisioned it, had to be a place full of jazz,’ I knew immediately Kamasi was the artist that could interpret her experience musically. His sound is contemporary and timeless, a magical fit to her story.”

Related: Kamasi Washington On Traversing Truth, Working With Jam Bands & Hip-Hop Stars [Interview]

“It was such a pleasure and honor to work on Becoming,” Washington noted in a statement. “Michelle Obama is such an amazing person and this film gives a very unique insight to who she is, how she thinks, and the way she navigates the world. It’s truly inspiring to see! Working with the film’s incredible director Nadia Hallgren to create a musical palette to support this amazing piece was truly a blessing. I’m so thankful to her for the opportunity to be a part of this. Barack and Michelle Obama’s time as President and First Lady had an impact on the history of this country and the world that is hard to put into words, but both Michelle Obama’s book and Nadia Hallgren’s film do an amazing job of it!”

Below, watch a trailer for the new Michelle Obama documentary, Becoming, which shares a title with Obama’s bestselling 2018 memoir.

Becoming – Official Trailer

[Video: Netflix]

Along with the film’s release on Netflix, Kamasi Washington has announced that he will release his Becoming score via Young Turk Recordings on all major streaming platforms on May 15th. You can pre-save the record here and check out a full tracklisting below.

Kamasi Washington – Becoming (Music From The Netflix Original Documentary) – Full Tracklisting

1. Shot Out Of A Cannon
2. Becoming
3. Take In The Story
4. Southside V.1
5. Dandy
6. The Rhythm Changes
7. Song For Frasier
8. Announcement
9. Detail
10. Fashion Then and Now
11. Provocation
12. Connections
13. Looking Forward
14. I Am Becoming
15. Southside V.2

View Tracklisting