Obviously, the new album from Lake Street Dive, officially arrives today via Nonesuch Records. The new record, the band’s sixth, marked the first time that founding members Bridget Kearney (bass), Rachael Price (lead vocals), Mike “McDuck” Kearney (trumpet, guitar), and Mike Calabrese recorded with their newest bandmate, Akie Bermiss (keyboards), who began touring with the group in 2017.

“This was the first time we got to collaborate with Akie as a writer,” bassist Bridget Kearney explained when the album was announced. “He really brought a lot of stuff to the table. It’s pretty remarkable that you can add somebody to a band after fourteen years and have this completely new writer who fits into the grand scheme.”

lake street dive obviously

The new album is produced by Grammy Award-winning producer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Mike Elizondo. Best known as a songwriting collaborator with Dr. Dre, Eminem, and 50 Cent, Elizondo has also produced records for Fiona Apple, Mary J. Blige, Carrie Underwood, and 21 Pilots, among many others.

Utilizing Elizondo’s hip-hop record-making expertise, LSD’s wide-ranging taste in pop, rock, R&B, and jazz come together in pristine fashion on the new record. Adding to the impact of the impeccably produced, retro-feeling record is a contemporary attitude that gets at the root of this turbulent chapter in our history. With each track sporting a radio-ready feel while staying true to the unique, often defiant character, Obviously feels destined to turn a whole new wave of fans on to the joys of Lake Street Dive.

Stream the new album on the platform of your choice here or listen via Spotify below.

Lake Street Dive – Obviously – Full Album

In celebration of the album’s release, Lake Street Dive appeared on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert to perform new track “Hypotheticals”. The Colbert performance followed the release of the official “Hypotheticals” music video on Thursday. Watch the band perform “Hypotheticals” on Colbert below.

Lake Street Dive – “Hypotheticals” – The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

[Video: The Late Show with Stephen Colbert]

Lake Street Dive will continue forward on the promo circuit for the new album with an appearance on CBS This Morning: Saturday this weekend. See below for a full tracklist for the new album.

Lake Street Dive – Obviously – Tracklist

1. Hypotheticals
2. Hush Money
3. Same Old News
4. Being a Woman
5. Making Do
6. Nobody’s Stopping You Now
7. Know That I Know
8. Lackluster Lover
9. Anymore
10. Feels Like the Last Time
11. Sarah

View Tracklist