A new posthumous Leonard Cohen album, Thanks For The Dance, is set for release on November 22nd via Columbia/Legacy. Thanks For The Dance features new, never-before-released material including the album’s lead single, “The Goal”. On November 11th, 2016, Cohen died at 82, a few months after he released his final album, You Want It Darker.

The new album is described as “not a commemorative collection of B sides and outtakes, but an unexpected harvest of new songs, exciting and vital, a continuation of the master’s final work.” Produced by Leonard’s son, Adam Cohen, Thanks For The Dance features guest appearances from Beck, Damien Rice, Feist, Bryce Dessner (The National), Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Daniel Lanois, and more.

“In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us,” Adam Cohen explained in a statement. “What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. ‘Leonard lives’! they say, one after the other.”

Listen to the albums lead single, “The Goal”, below:

Leonard Cohen – “The Goal”

[Audio: LeonardCohen]

See below for the album’s tracklist. Fans can head here to pre-order the new posthumous Leonard Cohen album, Thanks For The Dance.

Thanks For The Dance Tracklist:

  1. Happens to the Heart
  2. Moving On
  3. The Night of Santiago
  4. Thanks for the Dance
  5. It’s Torn
  6. The Goal
  7. Puppets
  8. The Hills
  9. Listen to the Hummingbird
View Tracklist