The Library of Congress has announced the 25 recorded works that will be added to the National Recording Registry for preservation this year.

Announced by Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden on Wednesday, selected recordings including Louis Armstrong‘s “When the Saints Go Marching In”, NasIllmatic album, Kool & the Gang‘s “Celebration”, and Kermit the Frog’s “The Rainbow Connection”, and more will now join the 750 previous works already archived within the country’s official library. Other song recordings and albums selected include Albert King‘s Born Under a Bad Sign, Connie Smith‘s “Once a Day”, Jimmy Cliff‘s The Harder They Come, Jackson Browne‘s Late for the Sky, Pat Metheny‘s Bright Size Life, Janet Jackson‘s Rhythm Nation 1814, and more.

Recordings ranging from radio broadcasts to commercial music—and, for the first time ever this year, podcasts—are selected by the organization based on their cultural, historical, or aesthetic importance in the nation’s recorded sound heritage.

Related: Kermit The Frog Shares Self-Isolated “Rainbow Connection” Video [Watch]

Non-musical recordings selected for this year’s induction include Thomas Edison’s 1878 “St. Louis tinfoil” recording (possibly the oldest playable recording of an American voice), Franklin D. Roosevelt and Winston Churchill‘s December 24th, 1941 Christmas Eve radio broadcast three weeks after the Pearl Habor attack, Phil Rizzuto’s radio play-by-play of Roger Maris‘ record-setting 61st home run, and This American Life podcast’s “The Giant Pool of Money” episode which aired on May 9th, 2008 and lays out the story of the subprime mortgage crisis.

“The National Recording Registry will preserve our history through these vibrant recordings of music and voices that have reflected our humanity and shaped our culture from the past 143 years,” Hayden added in a press statement. “We received about 900 public nominations this year for recordings to add to the registry, and we welcome the public’s input as the Library of Congress and its partners preserve the diverse sounds of history and culture.”

Revisit the recordings selected for National Recording Registry in 2020 and 2019.

National Recording Registry 2021 Selections

1. Thomas Edison’s “St. Louis tinfoil” recording (1878)
2. “Nikolina” — Hjalmar Peterson (1917) (single)
3. “Smyrneikos Balos” — Marika Papagika (1928) (single)
4. “When the Saints Go Marching In” — Louis Armstrong & his Orchestra (1938) (single)
5. Christmas Eve Broadcast–Franklin D. Roosevelt and Winston Churchill (December 24, 1941)
6. “The Guiding Light” — Nov. 22, 1945
7. “Odetta Sings Ballads and Blues” — Odetta (1957) (album)
8. “Lord, Keep Me Day by Day” — Albertina Walker and the Caravans (1959) (single)
9. Roger Maris hits his 61st homerun (October 1, 1961)
10. “Aida” — Leontyne Price, (1962) (album)
11. “Once a Day” — Connie Smith (1964) (single)
12. “Born Under a Bad Sign” — Albert King (1967) (album)
13. “Free to Be…You & Me” — Marlo Thomas and Friends (1972) (album)
14. “The Harder They Come” — Jimmy Cliff (1972) (album)
15. “Lady Marmalade” — Labelle (1974) (single)
16. “Late for the Sky” — Jackson Browne (1974) (album)
17. “Bright Size Life” — Pat Metheny (1976) (album)
18. “The Rainbow Connection” — Kermit the Frog (1979) (single)
19. “Celebration” — Kool & the Gang (1980) (single)
20. “Richard Strauss: Four Last Songs” — Jessye Norman (1983) (album)
21. “Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation 1814” — Janet Jackson (1989) (album)
22. “Partners” — Flaco Jiménez (1992) (album)
23. “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”/”What A Wonderful World” — Israel Kamakawiwo’ole (1993) (single)
24. “Illmatic” — Nas (1994) (album)
25. “This American Life: The Giant Pool of Money” (May 9, 2008)

View Full List