Funk legend Maceo Parker has released an updated take on “Other Side Of The Pillow” by Prince, with whom he collaborated for a decade following his work with James BrownParliament-Funkadelic, and others. Originally recorded at Prince’s Paisley Park in Minnesota for the Purple One’s 21st LP, The Truth, the reimagined version of the song appears on Maceo Parker’s first studio album in eight years, Soul Food – Cooking With Maceo, due out on Friday, June 26th.

“I am really pleased to be including a Prince song on this album,” Parker said in a statement. “I recorded this song back in 2002 with Prince but we never got to finish it. We recorded it again freshly in New Orleans for the new album and it pays tribute to two geniuses, Prince and Ray Charles. Also two very important people to me. I hope you enjoy it.”

Related: SiriusXM Launches Dedicated Artist Channels For Prince, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, More

“More than anything I miss Prince,” Parker continued. “He was a genius, so it was special to re-record a song he and I had once toyed with [the] idea of releasing and give it that special New Orleans feel while also referencing the person I most admired growing up, the Genius Mr Ray Charles.”

Watch the official visualizer video for the new Maceo Parker take on “Other Side Of The Pillow” by Prince below:

Maceo Parker – “Other Side Of The Pillow” (Prince)

[Video: Maceo Parker]

His 16th solo album and first release on Mascot Label Group‘s new imprint, The Funk Garage, Soul Food – Cooking with Maceo finds Parker partnering with New Orleans funk royalty to cook up a fresh selection of soul and funk classics, as well as Parker originals. The album was recorded at New Orleans’ House of 1000hz with Andrew “Goat” Gilchrist and producer Eli Wolf (Norah Jones, Madlib, Al Green).

The record features collaborations with the likes of Ivan Neville and Tony Hall (Dumpstaphunk), Nikki Glaspie (The Nth Power), and a host of local New Orleans musicians and includes takes on classic songs like Dr. John‘s “Right Place, Wrong Time”, The Meters‘ “Just Kissed My Baby”, Aretha Franklin‘s “Rock Steady”, and more. In addition to the covers, the album features updated takes on past Maceo Parker compositions like “M A C E O” and “Cross The Track”.

Maceo Parker – ‘Soul Food Cooking With Maceo’ – Tracklisting

1. Cross The Track
2. Just Kissed My Baby
3. Yes We Can Can
4. M A C E O
5. Hard Times
6. Rock Steady
7. Compared To What
8. Right Place Wrong Time
9. Other Side of the Pillow
10. Grazing In The Grass

Veiw Tracklisting