Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum, the trio comprised of Dexter actor Michael C. Hall (vocals), Peter Yanowitz (drums), and Matt Katz-Bohen (keys) have put their own spin on Phantogram‘s “Cruel World”. The reimagined track, a staple of the trio’s live shows, will be featured as a bonus track on the group’s forthcoming debut album, Thanks For Coming, due out on February 12th, 2021.

Equal parts early David Bowie and “Strawberry Fields Forever”-era Beatles, the cover carries a simple yet immersive sonic palette that builds to a frenetic peak under feedback-laced vocals from Hall. The accompanying video finds the trio in the woods, connecting with the various flora with thematic reluctance as Hall reminds us that “it’s a cruel, cruel world.”

Related: Watch Michael C. Hall Perform As David Bowie Performing As Michael C. Hall On ‘Colbert’

Stream the new cover of Phantogram’s “Cruel World” by Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum on the platform of your choice here or watch the music video below:

Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum – “Cruel World” (Phantogram) – Official Music Video

[Video: Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum]

Taking their name from an idea that Katz-Bohen’s four-year-old daughter had for her imaginary band, Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum eschews traditional rock instrumentation in favor of stripped-down synthesizer-and-drum attack. A wealth of disparate influences flow into Princess Goes to the Butterfly Museum’s songs, from the glam, experimental, ambient music of David Bowie—who chose Hall to star in his Lazarus musical—to Giorgio Moroder’s ‘70s disco productions for Donna Summer, to ‘80s new wave dance music, to contemporary electronic dance acts like Justice and the roster of France’s Ed Banger label. A theatrical sensibility is part of the trio’s DNA, especially in live shows, having met several years ago on Broadway during the production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. 

Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum released their debut, self-titled EP earlier this year, earning widespread praise. The group recently followed the EP’s release with “Eat An Eraser”, the first single from the new album. Pre-save the new album here.