Neal Francis has revealed details for his sophomore album, In Plain Sight, set to arrive on November 5th via ATO Records. Tuesday’s announcement came with the LP’s lead single, “Can’t Stop The Rain”—co-written by David Shaw (The Revivalists) and featuring Derek Trucks—and an accompanying video for the track.

In Plain Sight rose from the ashes of a difficult couple of years for Francis after he returned in 2019 from touring behind his debut album. The keyboardist went through a breakup and found himself living in a church—the same church where most of the album was ultimately recorded. This latest offering finds Francis reflecting on themes of redemption and resiliency as listeners go on a guided musical journey of atonement.

“I’m owning up to all my problems within my relationships and my sobriety,” Francis said in a press release. “So much of it is about coming to the understanding that I continue to suffer because of those problems. It’s about acknowledging that and putting it out in the open in order to mitigate the suffering and try to work on it, instead of trying to hide everything.”

Related: Neal Francis Performs “This Time”, “These Are The Days” At Democracy Comes Alive [Watch]

The album’s lead single, “Can’t Stop The Rain”, is a cathartic romp whose emotional gravity is further bolstered by the powerful slide guitar of one Derek Trucks. In the song’s video, Francis plays through the rain as buckets of precipitation pour down on him and his childhood piano—which he began playing at age 4 and eventually destroys.

“Even though life’s going to throw all this shit at you, there’s still so many things to be grateful for,” Francis simply said of the single.

Watch the music video for “Can’t Stop The Rain”, the lead single off Neal Francis’ forthcoming album In Plain Sight. Click here to pre-order and scroll down to see a full tracklist and album artwork.

Neal Francis – “Can’t Stop The Rain” (Official Video)

[Video: Neal Francis]

In Plain Sight Tracklist

1. Alameda Apartments
2. Problems
3. Can’t Stop The Rain
4. D’Artagnan
5. Prometheus
6. Sentimental Garbage
7. Asleep
9. Say Your Prayers

View Tracklist