Neil Young has announced a new archival live release, TUSCALOOSA, due out on June 7th via Reprise Records. The live release encompasses his February 5th, 1973 concert at the University Of Alabama‘s Tuscaloosa campus, along with his backing band The Stray Gator, which featured bassist Tim Drummond, drummer Kenny Buttrey, keyboardist Jack Nitzsche, and steel guitarist Ben Keith.

TUSCALOOSA features five tacks from Young’s beloved 1972 album, Harvest, and two tracks from his 1973 live album, Time Fades Away, both of which he recorded with The Stray Gators as his backing band.

Young recently shared his thoughts on the forthcoming release with Rolling Stone. He explains,

It’s from the period right around ‘Harvest’ and ‘Tonight’s the Night’. For me, it’s edgy. It’s like those mellow songs with an edge. It’s really trippy to be down in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and singing those songs from Harvest and the songs that we were doing for Time Fades Away before it came out. I found this thing and it had such a great attitude to it. I just loved the whole night, so I put that together with [engineer] John Hanlon.

Ahead of TUSCALOOSA‘s release, Neil Young has shared a recording of “Don’t Be Denied”, which you can listen to below:

Neil Young – “Don’t Be Denied”

[Audio: neilyoungchannel]

TUSCALOOSA will be released as a single CD and a three-sided vinyl album with etched artwork on side four, along with a limited-edition bundle that includes an autographed print from photographer Joel Bernstein of Young and the band on stage.

See below for TUSCALOOSA‘s tracklist. Fans can head here to pre-order Neil Young’s forthcoming TUSCALOOSA live archival release.


A side:
Here We Are In The Years (3:56)
After The Gold Rush (4:42)
Out On The Weekend (5:29)
Harvest (4:14)

B side:
Old Man (4:17)
Heart Of Gold (3:48)
Time Fades Away (6:10)
Lookout Joe (4:59)

C side:
New Mama (3:01)
Alabama (3:50)
Don’t Be Denied (8:09)

D side:

Etched artwork

View Tracklist