Phish has announced the release of The Spectrum ‘97, a new six-CD box set featuring two shows from the band’s Fall Tour ‘97.

Captured on December 2nd and 3rd, 1997 at The Spectrum in Philadelphia, the new release showcases a standout run from Phish’s 1.0 era, recorded to multitrack by Paul Languedoc, mixed by Jon Altschiller, and mastered by Fred Kevorkian. The collection features 33 tracks, including the two shows and bonus “Funky Bitch” soundcheck, which is included at the end of the 2/2/97 show.

The December 2nd setlist started with “Buried Alive” > “Down With Disease” > “Makisupa Policeman” and continued with an uptempo “Chalk Dust Torture”, followed by a one-time pairing of “Ghost” and the only “Divided Sky” of the tour. Set two opened with more than an hour of nonstop music featuring a seamless sequence of “Mike’s Song” > “Simple” > “Dog Faced Boy” > “Ya Mar” > “Weekapaug Groove”.

The December 3rd show also started strong with “Punch You In The Eye” > “My Soul” and “Drowned” and closed with a unique combination of “Gumbo” > “2001” > “You Enjoy Myself”. The second set was another nonstop jam session highlighted by the “Philly ’97 Jam”,  a standalone jam with siren effects and fight bell, foreshadowing the famous “Dayton Jam” out of “Tube” later that week.

Listen to “Ghost” > “Divided Sky” from 12/2/97 and “Gumbo” from 12/3/97, the official first listen to Phish’s new The Specrtum ’97 box set below. The album is available for pre-order here along with a limited-edition Jim Pollock Fall ’97 poster and tee commemorating the release. The box set will hit stores March 15th.

Phish – “Ghost” > “Divided Sky” – 12/2/97

Phish – “Gumbo” – 12/3/97