The highly-anticipated new album from pioneering hip-hop group Public EnemyWhat You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down?, is out today, Friday, September 25th, via Def Jam Recordings.

The album marks their historic return to Def Jam Recordings, the iconic label on which they released their first five albums. The list of features on What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? is a testament to the profound influence of Public Enemy on the hip-hop world in the years since their formation in 1985, with appearances from a who’s who of influential MCs and musicians like NasGeorge Clinton, Mike D and Ad-Rock (Beastie Boys), Black Thought and Questlove (The Roots), YG, Rapsody, DJ Premier,  Cypress Hill, Run-DMC, Ice-T, PMD, Daddy-O, Jahi, The Impossebulls, Mark Jenkins, and S1Ws Pop Diesel and James Bomb.

public enemy what you gonna do when the grid goes down

As a press statement announcing the new Public Enemy album release notes, “Public Enemy have proven that rebellion is more than the sound of a musical genre, the culture of a social class, or the color of a skin; it is an unmovable, unmistakable state of mind and heart. PE is hellbent on creating change where it is needed most. Determined to give voice to those who have long been ignored, unafraid to question institutional injustices, and intent on challenging any and all obstacles to social justice, Public Enemy have resisted with unprecedented intensity and eloquence.”

Public Enemy is set to perform “Grid” featuring Cypress Hill on CBS’s special live broadcast of The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on Tuesday, September 29th immediately following the first presidential debate.

Two tracks from the album were previously available, including “State Of The Union (STFU)” featuring DJ Premier which was released in June, as well as “Fight the Power: Remix 2020” that opened the BET Awards the same month. Last month, the album’s announcement also saw the release of the “Fight the Power” remix across streaming platforms, as well as worldwide recognition as the group’s logo was cast on monuments around the world including the Eiffel Tower, Parliament, and more.

Earlier this year, Public Enemy made headlines when Chuck D and Flavor Flav clashed over their seemingly opposing views on taking bold political stances like performing at a Bernie Sanders rally. Flav was briefly kicked out of the group, though this new release cycle has confirmed that they have since mended fences.

Scroll down to check out the full list of tracks and guest appearances. You can also stream the album on the platform of your choice here or listen via Spotify below:

Public Enemy – What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? – Full Album

Public Enemy What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? – Track Listing

01 – “When The Grid Goes Down” ft. George Clinton
02 – “Grid” ft. Cypress Hill and George Clinton
03 – “State of the Union (STFU)” ft. DJ Premier
04 – “Merica Mirror” ft. Pop Diesel
05 – “Public Enemy Number Won” ft. Mike D, Ad-Rock, Run-DMC
06 – “Toxic”
07 – “Yesterday Man” ft. Daddy-O
08 – “Crossroads Burning” (Interlude) ft. James Bomb
09 – “Fight The Power: Remix 2020” ft. Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, Jahi, YG, Questlove
10 – “Beat Them All”
11 – “Smash The Crowd” ft.. Ice-T, PMD
12 – “If You Can’t Join Em Beat Em”
13 – “Go At It” ft. Jahi
14 – “Don’t Look At The Sky” (Interlude) ft. Mark Jenkins
15 – “Rest In Beats” ft. The Impossebulls
16 – “R.I.P. Blackat”
17 – “Closing: I Am Black” ft. Ms. Ariel

View Track Listing