Boston alt-pop band Ripe has shared a groovy new single, “Queen of the City”, from the group’s sophomore LP, Bright Blues, due out Friday, March 10th via Glassnote Records. The song follows previous singles “Noise in the Forest” and “Settling”, each of which arrived along with a stripped-down acoustic version.

Originally formed at Berklee College of Music, Ripe is comprised singer Robbie Wulfsohn, guitarist Jon Becker, drummer Sampson Hellerman, and trombonist Calvin Barthel. Known for its high-energy live performances and unique blend of funk, jazz, soul, pop, and R&B, the band earned widespread acclaim with its debut album, 2018’s Joy in the Wild Unknown, as well as constant touring. Bright Blues sees the band expand on its eclectic sound, enlisting the talents of rising pop producer/songwriters and Berklee classmates Noah Conrad (BTS, Niall Horan) and Ryan Linvill (Olivia Rodrigo, Dermot Kennedy).

“We thought, how can we do something new?” Said drummer Sampson Hellerman. “Something that still has our sound and vibe at its core, how can we expand our boundaries and reach more audiences while still staying true to what makes Ripe Ripe?”

Related: Cory Wong Drops New Live Album Ft. Sierra Hull & Robbie Wulfsohn, ‘The Power Station Tour (West Coast)’ [Listen]

“The wildest thing for me is that the record simultaneously sounds like it has the scars of everything we’ve been through and also that it doesn’t,” added singer Robbie Wulfsohn, referring to challenges the band faced in the process of making the album, including lineup changes and the global pandemic. “It’s joyful music, which is very exciting given that it was made in the middle of getting hit in the stomach.”

Ripe will celebrate the release of Bright Blues with a North American headlining tour set to kick off on March 28th at Dallas, TX’s Deep Ellum Art Co. and extending through late April with stops at Boston’s new MGM Music Hall at Fenway (4/8), New York City’s Terminal 5 (4/15), San Francisco’s The Fillmore (4/27), and more. For complete details and ticket information, visit the band’s website.

“Queen of the City” is now available on all streaming platforms. Stream the track and previous singles via Spotify below. Click here to pre-order Bright Blues and click below to view the band’s upcoming tour dates and the album tracklist.

Ripe – “Queen of the City”

Ripe – “Noise in the Forest” & “Settling”

Ripe – “Noise in the Forest” (Acoustic)

Ripe – “Settling” (Acoustic)

Ripe – “Settling” (Official Video)

Click to reveal previous singles.

RIPE – TOUR 2023


28 – Dallas, TX – Deep Ellum Art Co.

29 – Austin, TX – Scoot Inn

31 – Nashville, TN – Basement East


1 – Atlanta, GA – Center Stage

2 – Asheville, NC – Salvage Station

3 – Charleston, SC – Pour House

5 – Detroit, MI – El Club

6 – Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall

7 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall

8 – Boston, MA – MGM Music Hall at Fenway

11 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom

12 – Millvale, PA – Mr. Smalls Theatre

13 – Washington D.C. – 9:30 Club

14 – Philadelphia, PA – Brooklyn Bowl

15 – New York, NY – Terminal 5

18 – Raleigh, NC – Lincoln Theatre

19 – Charlotte, NC – Underground

21 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues

22 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater

23 – Kansas City, KS – Record Bar

24 – Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater

25 – Salt Lake City, UT – Soundwell

27 – San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore

28 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey Theatre

29 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom


June 29-July 2 – Scranton, PA  – Peach Fest

26-30 – Floyd, VA – Floyd Fest *


Click to view tour dates.

Bright Blues Tracklist:

Get Over


All or Nothing

Noise in the Forest

Paper Cups

Queen of the City


Say It to Me


The Outcome


Good Intentions

Click to view tracklist.