In June, former The Band guitarist Robbie Robertson announced a new solo studio album, Sinematic, set for release on September 20th via UMe. The forthcoming album will mark Robertson’s first new music since 2011’s How To Become Clairvoyant.

Following the release of the album’s lead single, Robertson has shared a new single, “Let Love Reign”, which was inspired by John Lennon.

“Some people think John Lennon’s dream about love and togetherness went up in flames,” Robertson explained in a statement. “I think that’s wrong. It’s everlasting. There was something a little naive about John Lennon going around singing about peace, but in that period young people celebrating love and peace helped end a war.”

Listen to Robbie Robertson’s new tune “Let Love Reign” below:

Robbie Robertson – “Let Love Reign”

[Video: UMeMusicTeam]

Produced by Robertson, the 13-track album includes bassist Pino Palladino, keyboardist Martin Pradler, drummer Chris Dave, guitarist Afie Jurvanen and vocalist Felicity Williams, along with guest contributions from Van MorrisonJim Keltner, Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall IICitizen Cope, J.S. Ondara, Laura Satterfield, Frédéric Yonnnet and Howie B.

According to a press release, Robertson drew his inspiration for Sinematic from Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band, the new documentary that is set to premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival on September 5th, and his 2016 memoir, Testimony. Robertson was also inspired from his work on the score for Martin Scorcese‘s forthcoming Netflix-bound film, The Irishman, due out later this year.

A deluxe edition of Sinematic is set for releasee on October 25th and will include CD and 180-gram 2LP vinyl versions of the album, as well as a 36-page hardcover book with track-by-track artwork by Robertson.

Head here to pre-order Robbie Robertson’s forthcoming album, Sinematic.

Sinematic Tracklist:

  1. I Hear You Paint Houses
  2. Once Were Brothers
  3. Dead End Kid
  4. Hardwired
  5. Walk In Beauty Way
  6. Let Love Reign
  7. Shanghai Blues
  8. Wandering Souls
  9. Street Serenade
  10. The Shadow
  11. Beautiful Madness
  12. Praying For Rain
  13. Remembrance
View Tracklist