Former The Band guitarist Robbie Robertson has announced a new solo studio album, Sinematic, set for release on September 2oth via UMe. The forthcoming album will mark Robertson’s first new music since 2011’s How To Become Clairvoyant.

Produced by Robertson, the 13-track album includes bassist Pino Palladino, keyboardist Martin Pradler, drummer Chris Dave, guitarist Afie Jurvanen and vocalist Felicity Williams, along with guest contributions from Van MorrisonJim Keltner, Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall II, Citizen Cope, J.S. Ondara, Laura Satterfield, Frédéric Yonnnet and Howie B.

According to a press release, Robertson drew his inspiration for Sinematic from Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band, the new documentary that is set to premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival on September 5th, and his 2016 memoir, Testimony. Robertson was also inspired from his work on the score for Martin Scorcese‘s forthcoming Netflix-bound film, The Irishman, due out later this year.

Robertson shared his thoughts with Rolling Stone on his latest project. He explained,

I was working on all these things. I was working on my album, and on music for the movie, and on this documentary. All these things were kind of swirling around, and I didn’t know how to keep them separate. So I didn’t.

Along with the album announcement, Robertson shared the album’s lead single, “I Hear You Paint Houses”, featuring Van Morrison. “I usually see Van when he comes to town and we catch up, and he said, ‘So, what are you working on?’” Robertson stated. “He came by my studio and listened to the track and I said, ‘You want to do something on this?’”

Listen to Robbie Robertson’s new single “I Hear You Paint Houses” featuring Van Morrison below:

Robbie Robertson ft. Van Morrison – “I Hear You Paint Houses”

[Audio: Robbie Robertson – Topic]

A deluxe edition of Sinematic is set for releasee on October 25th and will include CD and 180-gram 2LP vinyl versions of the album, as well as a 36-page hardcover book with track-by-track artwork by Robertson.

Head here to pre-order Robbie Robertson’s forthcoming album, Sinematic.

Sinematic Tracklist:

  1. I Hear You Paint Houses
  2. Once Were Brothers
  3. Dead End Kid
  4. Hardwired
  5. Walk In Beauty Way
  6. Let Love Reign
  7. Shanghai Blues
  8. Wandering Souls
  9. Street Serenade
  10. The Shadow
  11. Beautiful Madness
  12. Praying For Rain
  13. Remembrance
View Tracklist