The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced its nominees for induction in 2020. The 2020 nominees include Pat BenatarDave Matthews BandDepeche ModeThe Doobie BrothersWhitney HoustonJudas PriestKraftwerkMC5, MotörheadNine Inch NailsThe Notorious B.I.G., Rufus feat. Chaka KhanTodd RundgrenSoundgardenT. Rex, and Thin Lizzy. The top vote-getters will be announced in January and inducted at a ceremony

You can vote on your top five choices for Rock Hall induction via a Google fan vote here.

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2020 Induction Nominees Announcement

Notes Rolling Stone, “To be eligible for this year’s ballot, each nominee’s first single or album had to be released in 1994 or earlier. In a break with recent history, a majority of the nominees are appearing on the ballot for the first time, including Dave Matthews Band, the Doobie Brothers, Motörhead, The Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, T. Rex, Thin Lizzy and Whitney Houston. This is the sixth ballot appearance for Kraftwerk, the fifth for the MC5, the fourth for Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, the third for Nine Inch Nails and Depeche Mode and the second for Judas Priest and Todd Rundgren.”

“Nothing stays the same in music,” incoming Rock Hall chairman John Sykes told Rolling Stone last month. “Therefore, really, the institution that honors it has to evolve with all the music. Just like hip-hop is very much a part of the Hall of Fame now, everything we do — the board members we have, the events we build on — has to reflect a changing culture without ever disregarding or turning our backs on the ideals and fundamentals of the Rock Hall.” This marks the first year that John Sykes is the Rock Hall chair after Rolling Stone and Rock Hall founder Jann Wenner stepped down last year.

The inductees will be chosen by a voter pool of 1,000+ artists, journalists, and music industry members. The induction process also includes a fan vote, which you can access here.

As has become their custom, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced the individual members of each nominated act that will be eligible to accept should their band be chosen for induction.

The current core Dave Matthews Band lineup of Dave MatthewsStefan LessardCarter BeaufordTim ReynoldsRashawn Ross, and Jeff Coffin were nominated alongside former fiddler Boyd Tinsley and late founding saxophonist LeRoi Moore.

For The Doobie Brothers, the rock hall recognized Tom JohnstonPatrick SimmonsJohn McFeeJohn HartmanMichale HossackTiran PorterKeith KnudsenJeff “Skunk” Baxter, and Michael McDonald as the nominated band lineup.

For Judas Priest, who has also gone through many lineup changes through the years, the Rock Hall singled out Les BinksK.K. DowningRob HalfordIan HillDave HollandGlenn Tipton, and Scott Travis as eligible members.

The current Depeche Mode lineup of Dave Gahan, Martin Gore and Andy Fletcher made the cut along with former keyboardists Vince Clark and Alan Wilder, while Soundgaden’s final lineup of Matt Cameron, Chris Cornell, Ben Shepherd and Kim Thayil is on the ballot along with original bassist Hiro Yamamoto.

The MC5 lineup of Michael Davis, Wayne Kramer, Fred “Sonic” Smith, Dennis Thompson and Rob Tyner was selected. Rufus featuring Chaka Khan members Dennis Belfield, Al Ciner, Andre Fischer, Chaka Khan, Tony Maiden, Nate Morgan, Kevin Murphy, Ron Stockert, Bobby Watson are all included in the act’s nomination.

Pat Benatar is listed along with her husband and longtime collaborator Neil Giraldo and the classic Kraftwerk lineup of Ralf Hütter, Florian Schneider, Karl Bartos, Wolfgang Flür appears without any more recent members. Motörhead is represented by Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister, “Fast” Eddie Clarke and Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor, while T-Rex members Marc Bolan, Mickey Finn, Steve Currie, Bill Legend were selected. Thin Lizzy will be represented by Phil Lynott, Brian Downey, Eric Bell, Scott Gorham, Brian Robertson for the induction process.

The 2019 induction class included RadioheadJanet JacksonStevie NicksDef LeppardThe CureRoxy Music, and The Zombies.

So… how’d they do? Who’s missing? Who from the list of nominees would you like to see inducted in May?