Classical-fusion guitar duo Rodrigo y Gabriela have released their new Mettal EP on streaming services on Friday. The new release pays tribute to several metal legends.

Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero paid homage to metal legends with covers of some of the most iconic songs in metal history. The tracklist features covers of Megadeth‘s “Holy Wars”, Metallica‘s “Battery”, and Slayer‘s “Seasons in the Abyss”.  Sanchez produced all three tracks in Oslo, Norway before the duo finished them at their own Lumbini Studio in Ixtapa, Zihuatenejo, Mexico. Jim Monti (Slipknot, Metallica, KoRN) mixed the Mettal EP, while Grammy-winner Ted Jensen (Bring Me The Horizon, Disturbed, Halestorm) mastered it, at Sterling Sound in Nashville, TN.

The three-song EP was originally released as a limited run of 2,500 12″ vinyl back on November 29th for Record Store Day Black Friday. That followed the release of the single “Battery” on November 18th. Its release on streaming services came on Friday, January 17th.

Listen to the full EP below.

Rodrigo y Gabriela – Mettal EP

Rodrigo y Gabriela recently finished the U.S. leg of their METTAVOLUTION world tour in support of their Grammy-nominated LP of the same name. The tour, which saw dates across the Midwest and East Coast, picks back up at Smart Financial Centre at Sugar Land in Sugar Land, TX on March 12th. From there, they will play several dates in Mexico before heading off to Europe. Visit their official website for tickets and more tour information.