Run-DMC will collaborate with 12on12 to issue a vinyl-only compilation of some of the songs that inspired the groundbreaking hip-hop group as well as the early days of the genre as a whole. Set for release on December 8th, the record will also serve as a tribute to the late Jam Master Jay and will celebrate the 35th anniversary of the group’s breakout record, Raising Hell.

Among the artists featured on the compilation are Grandmaster Flash & The Furious FiveThe Whole Darn FamilyAfrika Bambaataa & Soul Sonic ForceKraftwerkAerosmithThe Sugarhill GangChicKenny GAnita BakerMFSB, Brand Nubian, as well as “Rock Box” by Run-DMC itself. Of note amongst the tracklist is Kraftwerk’s “Trans Europe Express”, a song rarely licensed for any compilation.

Related: Public Enemy Gets Animated For “Public Enemy Number Won” Video With Mike D, Ad-Rock, Run-DMC [Watch]

The collaboration is limited to 500 hand-numbered copies, and will also feature unique artwork designed by Reena Tolentino. Run-DMC’s vinyl compilation will be adorned with a portrait of the group, as well as Tolentino’s unique reimagining of the group’s iconic logo. Together with this artwork, the tracklist paints a picture of the sonic soundscapes that helped develop Run-DMC’s revolutionary sound as well as the burgeoning era of hip-hop that they helped usher in.

The Run-DMC 12on12 vinyl compilation is available for pre-order here beginning on December 2nd and is out on December 8th. Scroll down to see a preview of Tolentino’s artwork as well as the complete tracklisting. Watch a video of how the design came together below.

12on12 Run-DMC

[Video: 12on12]

Run-DMC 12on12 Compilation Tracklist


Side A
Superrappin’ by Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
Seven Minutes of Funk by The Whole Darn Family

Side B
Planet Rock by Afrika Bambaataa & Soul Sonic Force
Trans Europe Express by Kraftwerk
Walk This Way by Aerosmith
Rock Box by Run-DMC

Side C
Apache (Jump On It) by The Sugarhill Gang
Brand Nubian by Brand Nubian
Good Times by Chic

Side D
Love Is the Message by MFSB
The Look Of Love by Kenny G
You Bring Me Joy by Anita Baker

View Tracklist