The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) has announced the seven songwriters who will be inducted at the organization’s 52nd annual Induction and Awards Gala, which is set to take place on June 15th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. The honorees include Sade Adu, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Glen Ballard, Liz Rose, Jeff Lynne, and Teddy Riley.

The SHOF was established in 1969. Songwriters with notable catalogs qualify for induction 20 years after their first significant commercial release. “The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them, there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch … nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter,” said Nile Rodgers, SHOF chairman and 2016 SHOF inductee.

“We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

Twelve performing songwriters or songwriting teams and twelve non-performing songwriters or songwriting teams were on this year’s SHOF ballot. Among the chosen non-performing honorees are Liz Rose, who is nominated for song of the year at this year’s Grammys for co-writing the expanded version of Taylor Swift’s “All Too Well”, and Glen Ballard, who co-wrote numerous award-winning hits including Michael Jackson‘s “Man in the Mirror” and Alanis Morissette‘s “You Oughta Know”. The recipients of special awards, including the Johnny Mercer Award, the SHOF’s top honor, will be announced later.

This marks the fifth consecutive year that a songwriter associated with rap or hip-hop has been honored. Snoop follows in the footsteps of Jay-Z (2017), Jermaine Dupri (2018), Missy Elliott (2019), and Chad Hugo and Pharrell Williams of The Neptunes (2022).

Of the seven honorees, three were born outside the U.S.—Sade Adu from Nigeria, Estefan from Cuba, and Lynne from England. The age range of the honorees is from 51-year-old Snoop to 75-year-old Lynne.

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame Awards Gala are available starting at $2,000 each via Buckley Hall Events. For more information, visit the Songwriters Hall of Fame website.