Today, the Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their 2019 inductee class, which includes “performing songwriters” John PrineMissy Elliott, and Yusuf/Cat Stevens and “non-performing songwriters Tom T. HallDallas Austin, and Jack Tempchin.

As Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman and Chic frontman Nile Rodgers notes in a statement about the inductions,

The first thing you need to know is it’s about the song, the second thing you need to know is it’s about the song, the third thing you need to know is it’s about the song. That’s true now more than ever but it has always been about the song so I’m very proud that in my first year as Chairman of the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame that we are recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time. The 2019 slate of inductees represents diversity and unity across genres and gender, highlighting our dedicated mission to honor music creators who have enriched our lives. These are writers who in their time literally transformed music and helped make what’s happening today possible.

Of particular note, Missy Elliott’s induction marks the first time a female hip-hop artist has earned this recognition. She will also become just the third hip-hop artist ever inducted (following Jay-Z and Jermaine Dupri). Elliott shared her thoughts and gratitude about the induction on Twitter today:

The six new inductees were announced as official nominees in November of 2018. Other nominees that will not be inducted this year included Annie LennoxChrissie HyndeMariah CareyMike LoveVince GillJeff LynneJimmy Cliff, and more.

The inductees will be officially honored at the Songwriters Hall Of Fame Annual Induction & Awards Gala on June 19th, 2019. For more information on this year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees, head here.

Congratulations to all the 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees, and thank you for improving all of our lives with the gift of great songs.