The Mars Volta will return on September 16th with the group’s first new album in a decade. Alongside the announcement of The Mars Volta, the group helmed by Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodríguez-López shared a new single, “Vigil”.

The Mars Volta broke its silence back in June with the group’s first new release since its 2012 album Noctourniquet, the single “Blacklight Shine“. Since then, the band has shared a second track, “Graveyard Love“, and now “Vigil”. With each passing single, patient fans get another glimpse of what The Mars Volta sounds like in 2022.

Related: The Mars Volta Is Teasing New Music Inside A Cube In L.A. [Photos]

“Vigil” is by far the most accessible The Mars Volta single so far, and beyond that one of the more accessible pieces in the band’s catalog. Catchy isn’t a word often used to describe The Mars Volta, but on “Vigil” Bixler-Zavala and Rodríguez-López show that they can write a hook. The track ends by launching into space with echoing vocals and irregularly timed drums. The accompanying music video for the song also continues the theme from “Graveyard Love” of depicting life in Puerto Rico as Rodríguez-López—who was born in the U.S. territory—decries the colonial rule that governs the island.

Check out the music video for the new Mars Volta single “Vigil” below or stream it on your preferred streaming platform. The band will tour behind the new album this fall with a string of U.S. dates, many of which are already sold out. Scroll down for The Mars Volta tracklist and click here to pre-order on CD, vinyl, and cassette.

The Mars Volta – “Vigil” (Official Video)

The Mars Volta Tracklist:
01. Blacklight Shine
02. Graveyard Love
03. Shore Story
04. Blank Condolences
05. Vigil
06. Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón
07. Cerulea
08. Flash Burns from Flashbacks
09. Palm Full of Crux
10. No Case Gain
11. Tourmaline
12. Equus 3
13. Collapsible Shoulders
14. The Requisition

View Tracklist