The New Mastersounds have shared a new single, “Let Me In From The Cold”, off the band’s upcoming 17th studio album, The Deplar Effect.

The Deplar Effect was recorded at Floki Studios near Eleven Experience’s Deplar Farm on Troll Peninsula, Iceland. The album is due out October 14th via Color Red, a music platform and record label founded by The New Mastersounds guitarist Eddie Roberts that has partnered with Eleven Music to produce sessions with some of today’s most notable musicians.

“Inspired by the harsh Icelandic climate, ‘Let Me In From The Cold’ by The New Mastersounds is a humorous song about a frosty relationship between a ‘hard to get’ woman and a man pleading for her affection,” the band said about the song, which features vocals by Lamar Williams Jr. The track has an uptempo groove with a retro rock and roll sound supplied by Eddie Roberts on guitar and tambourine, Joe Tatton on electric organ, Pete Shand on bass, and Simon Allen on drums. The song was produced and mixed by Eddie Roberts and mastered by Doug Krebs.

“Let Me In From The Cold” is the third preview of The Deplar Effect, but technically the second single. The album’s opening track, “Watchu Want”, was released in June as a free NFT that also granted access to a livestream of the band’s only performances of the year. “Watchu Want” follows the band’s tradition of opening each record with a “Meters-inspired” instrumental in homage to its biggest influence. The band then subsequently dropped “Gonna Get In My Way”, a “tribute to the sounds of the Allman Brothers Band and Southern Rock” and the album’s first official single, along with a video showing some of the recording process and picturesque Icelandic scenery.

“Let Me In From The Cold” is now available on all streaming platforms. Listen to the track via YouTube in the player below.

The New Mastersounds – “Let Me In From The Cold”