Thundercat has announced a new album, It Is What It Is, and released the first single titled “Black Qualls”, which features Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington.

Related: Mac Miller’s Family Releases Music Video For First Posthumous Single, “Good News” [Watch]

The first single offers an interesting snapshot of the album to come. Through disorienting layers of rhythm and vocals, “Black Qualls” provides brief glimpses of so many different styles that could personify the forthcoming album, from his soulful falsetto to the driving, funky backbeats. The moment you think you have the groove of the song figured out, it switches up completely. With “Black Quals”, Thundercat raises more questions than he answers about It Is What It Is, out April 3rd via Brainfeeder.

Listen to “Black Qualls” by Thundercat featuring Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington below.

Thundercat ft. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington – “Black Qualls”

[Video: Thundercat]

The album announcement also includes a list of artists featured on It Is What It Is including Flying Lotus (who co-executive produced the album with Thundercat), Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole, and Zack Fox.

Additionally, Thundercat will embark on his previously-announced tour beginning February 28th at the Vogue Theater in Vancouver, BC. Tickets are available on his website. See a full tracklisting for It Is What It Is below.

Thundercat – It Is What It Is – Tracklisting

1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
9. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is

View Tracklisting