Join our newsletter to stay current on all your favorite artists!

EXCLUSIVE: The Brothers Comatose’s Vanderslice-Produced New Single, ‘Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go’

Whether traveling to gigs on horseback or by tour bus, San Francisco-based Americana mavens The Brothers Comatose forge their own path with raucous West Coast renderings of traditional bluegrass, country and rock ‘n’ roll music. The band has made a name for themselves with tireless touring over the years–from sold-out headlining slots at The Fillmore, to performances at festivals like Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival and their own Comatopia, to countless other dates across America, Canada, and Australia.

The Brothers Comatose Surprise Mall Shoppers By Performing In An Elevator [Watch]

In addition to their live exploits, The Brothers Comatose’s three full-length albums to date (Songs From The Stoop, Respect The Van, and City Painted Gold) have all received considerable critical acclaim. However, in hopes of shaking up the traditional album cycle, the band has decided to take an unorthodox approach to releasing their latest batch of songs, recording and releasing them as they are completed in the form of an ongoing series, beginning with the premiere of “Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go,” available below today exclusively via Live For Live Music:

You can watch the official music video for The Brothers Comatose’s new track, “Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go,” below:

You can also listen to audio of the new track below via the band’s SoundCloud page: 

As lead singer Ben Morrison explains, “‘Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go’ is the first track in a new song series we’re releasing throughout the rest of the year and the beginning of 2018. We decided to disrupt the typical album cycle and do it our own way. We booked the studio in chunks, where we record a few songs at a time, mix and master them, and we’ll release each song one by one leading up to all the tracks being available as a full-length album in spring 2018. We figured it would be way more fun to start releasing tracks as they are finished rather than waiting for a full album to be complete. It’s more interesting for us that way.’

Channeling harmony vanguards The Beach Boys, “Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go” is a nod to the delicate dance between two friends and trusting fate to either bring them romantically together or not. With lyrics written by the band’s tour manager Joe Pacini, lead singer Ben Morrison lends his crooning baritone to the fast-paced, feel good song. Continues Morrison, “This track is about the romantic fate of two potential lovers after a long evening spent together. ‘Don’t Make Me Get Up and Go’ was recorded with indie-rock legend John Vanderslice holding the production reins, and was recorded fairly quickly as we were trying to capture the raw energy of a live performance with the high sound quality of vintage analog tape gear.”

“Going into the studio with Vanderslice was all about capturing the moment on analog tape,” says Ben. “We set out to record in a way we’ve never previously attempted. We did it live with all of us playing in the same room as if we were performing on stage. Vanderslice really understood the sonic landscape we were going for. He’s really a super producer, being a musician who has cut a lot of records of his own and produced albums by many great artists.”

The release of “Don’t Make Me Get Up And Go” and the announcement of their unorthodox new release schedule comes as the band prepares for their showcase at their upcoming AMERICANAFEST 2017 showcase and their fall  “Campfire Caravan” tour with Mipso and The Lil Smokies. With each band quickly rising the ranks, “Campfire Caravan” honors the musicians’ early days playing music, when they’d perform for friends and family in basements, living rooms, and around campfires. “Campfire Caravan” celebrates the American tradition of gathering communities around music.

You can see a full list of upcoming dates on The Brothers Comatose’s Fall 2017 “Campfire Caravan” tour dates with Mipso and The Lil Smokies below. For more information, or to purchase tickets, head to The Brothers Comatose’s website.

“Campfire Caravan” Fall 2017 Tour Dates:

Wednesday, September 13 — Nashville, TN — The High Watt @ AMERICANAFEST 2017
Tuesday, September 26 — Billings, MT — Pub Station
Wednesday, September 27 — Bozeman, MT — Emerson Center for Arts & Culture
Thursday, September 28 — Missoula, MT — Wilma Theater
Friday, September 29 — Portland, OR — McMenamin’s Crystal Ballroom
Saturday, September 30 — Seattle, WA — Neumos
Sunday, October 1 — Eugene, OR — Hi-Fi Music Hall
Tuesday, October 3 — Sacramento, CA — Harlow’s
Wednesday, October 4 — Paso Robles, CA — Barrelhouse Brewing Co
Thursday, October 5 — Los Angeles, CA — Bootleg Theater
Friday, October 6 — Great American Music Hall — San Francisco, CA
Saturday, October 7 — Great American Music Hall — San Francisco, CA
Tuesday, October 10 — Boise, ID — Neurolux
Wednesday, October 11 — Salt Lake City, UT — The Urban Lounge
Thursday, October 12 — Denver, CO — Ogden Theatre
Friday, October 13 — Colorado Springs, CO — Ivywild School
Saturday, October 14 — Ft. Collins, CO — Aggie Theater
Thursday, November 2 — Minneapolis, MN — Cedar Cultural Center
Friday, November 3 — Madison, WI — High Noon Saloon
Saturday, November 4 — Chicago, IL — Lincoln Hall
Sunday, November 5 — Detroit, MI — Otus Supply
Tuesday, November 7 — Pittsburgh, PA — James Street Ballroom
Thursday, November 9 — Boston, MA — The Sinclair
Friday, November 10 — New York, NY — Bowery Ballroom
Saturday, November 11 — Ardmore, PA — Ardmore Music Hall
Sunday, November 12 — Washington, DC — 9:30 Club
Tuesday, November 14 — Charlotte, NC — Neighborhood Theatre
Wednesday, November 15 — Nashville, TN — The Mercury Lounge
Thursday, November 16 — Atlanta, GA — Terminal West
Friday, November 17 — Raleigh, NC — Lincoln Theatre
Saturday, November 18 — Asheville, NC — The Orange Peel