On Friday, Lettuce drummer Adam Deitch announced the official formation of a new group, MNTN LION. The group, featuring Deitch, The Motet‘s Joey Porter (keys), and Garrett Sayers (bass) in addition to Lettuce’s Adam Smirnoff (guitar), also announced a forthcoming, yet-untitled album.

“Just made a record for the love,” wrote Deitch in a Facebook post. “The band is called MNTN LION, cause we’re out here in Colorado. Looking forward to getting this finished and into your funk loving ears!”

Related: PREMIERE: The Motet Plays With Members Of Lettuce, Turkuaz, PPPP At Brooklyn Comes Alive [Full Video]

Smirnoff added in a post of his own, “The project formerly known as the Let-tet or Lit-tet now has a Name and an Album on the way. From Colorado, MNTN LION is here.”

The post contained videos of MNTN LION tracking songs in the Colorado studio. Separate videos highlighted soaring solos from Smirnoff, danceable grooves from the rhythm section, and funkified melodies from Porter’s keys.

While then-unnamed, Smirnoff, Deitch, Sayers, and Porter originally came together last year at Democracy Comes Alive, a one-day, nonpartisan virtual music festival aimed at channeling the power of music to make a critical impact on civic engagement. There, the funky four-piece laid down a rendition of Weather Report‘s “Teen Town”.

The eight-minute take on the jazz fusion classic highlighted excellent chemistry between the quartet, serving as a prelude for what’s to come with this forthcoming project. MNTN LION has not shared a release date for the album so stay tuned to Deitch’s Facebook page for more information as it becomes available.

Below, check out the quartet’s original performance, filmed last year for Democracy Comes Alive.

Lettuce x The Motet Members – “Teen Town” (Weather Report) – Democracy Comes Alive

The “Comes Alive” tradition continues later this year with Denver Comes Alive on December 4th, 2021 at Denver, CO’s Mission Ballroom.

The thoughtfully curated event features nationally touring acts like Tank and the BangasJudith HillDJ Logic in addition to the debut of a new band, Ramble On Revival, featuring Oteil Burbridge (Dead & Company), guitarists Steve Kimock (Phil Lesh & Friends) and Eric Krasno (Soulive), keyboardist Holly Bowling (Ghost Light), drummer Jeff Sipe (Col. Bruce Hampton and the Aquarium Rescue Unit), saxophonist Skerik, and vocalist/trumpeter Jennifer Hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band). Tickets are on sale here.