Alanis Morissette has shared cover artwork, tracklisting, and the second single from her forthcoming studio album, Such Pretty Forks in the Road, due out this spring on May 1st.

Entitled, “Smiling”, the dramatic new single follows the previously-shared “Reasons I Drink” as the second track to appear on Morissette’s first studio effort of new material since Havoc and Bright Lights. “Smiling” was co-written by Morissette alongside Michael Farrell, who has played and toured with the veteran Canadian singer as part of her live band in the past.

Related: Alanis Morissette Talks ‘Jagged Little Pill’ Anniversary Tour, Busks In NYC Subway On ‘Fallon’ [Watch]

The new recording hears the 45-year-old dive right into intense lyrical content as she opens up with, “This is a life of extremes/Both sides are slippery and enticing/These are my places off the rails.” Morissette’s lyrics are only heightened as they stride confidently onward atop a haunting guitar melody. The momentum eventually builds into a chorus with major keys that’s very easy to enjoy before returning to the melancholy-driven notation of the verses.

Listen to Morissette’s new single in full below.

Alanis Morissette – “Smiling” 

[Video: Alanis Morissette]

The song’s arrival on Friday also came a day following Morissette sharing the cover art and tracklisting for Such Pretty Forks in the Road, as seen via the Instagram post below.

Morissette’s upcoming summer tour with Liz Phair celebrating the 25th anniversary of her 1995 blockbuster Jagged Little Pill studio album begins on June 2nd and continues until July 25th.

Click here for Jagged Little Pill 2020 tour info and tickets.