Amazon Music announces the release of more than two dozen songs for the holidays, including “Christmas Soul,” a new Amazon Original playlist featuring 25 all-new holiday recordings from a wide range of artists; and the addition of three new songs to All Is Brightan existing Amazon Original playlist filled with holiday songs featured exclusively on Amazon Music. Both playlists are available to stream beginning today, November 24, exclusively on both Amazon Music Unlimited and
Christmas Soul is a purposely eclectic mix, exploring the many and varied meanings of “soul.” Across the playlist’s 25 tracks, you’ll hear rising indie hip-hop MC Open Mike Eagle, alt-pop songwriter Dawn Richard, classic soul performers Don Bryant and Ural Thomas, horn-laden retro stylings from the likes of Marc Broussard and JC Brooks, rootsy country-soul from Nicole Atkins and The Texas Gentlemen, propulsive Latin-soul rhythms courtesy of Jungle Fire and Buscabulla, the voice of Joey Dosik (Vulfpeck collaborator), the horns of The Soul Rebels, and much, much more.
The song selection for “Christmas Soul” is likewise varied. Stirring and soulful renditions of holiday standards like, “Little Drummer Boy,” recorded by emerging R&B crooner MAJOR, and “Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree,” reinvented for the playlist by Ruth B, sit alongside brand-new holiday compositions like acclaimed arranger-composer-iconoclast Adrian Younge’s baroque production of “The Saddest Christmas Tree.” Elsewhere, the artists on “Christmas Soul” tackle some lesser-known holiday classics, as with Richard’s searing take on the Prince b-side, “Another Lonely Christmas,” indie soul upstart Joey Dosik’s gorgeous rendition of Nate Dogg’s “Be Thankful,” and Demo Taped’s bracing re-interpretation of the O’Jays’ “Christmas Just Ain’t Christmas.” Head here for your own copy.
“Christmas Soul” includes:
1. The Soul Rebels “What Christmas Means to Me”
2. JC Brooks “Back Door Santa”
3. Jungle Fire “Jingle Fire”
4. Ruth B “Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree”
5. Demo Taped “Christmas Just Ain’t Christmas”
6. Blu & Exile “Christmas Missed Us”
7. Marc Broussard “Please Come Home For Christmas”
8. Major “Little Drummer Boy”
9. The Spacebomb House Band “Christmas Together (feat. Andy Jenkins)”
10. Robert Finley “Merry Christmas, I Love You”
11. Tamir “A Holiday Song”
12. Ural Thomas & The Pain “Christmas on Skidmore”
13. Open Mike Eagle “Snowsuit”
14. Liz Brasher “Only Gift I Need”
15. Buscabulla “Cantares”
16. Nicole Atkins “O Holy Night”
17. Don Bryant “White Christmas”
18. Dawn Richard “Another Lonely Christmas”
19. Davie “Someday At Christmas”
20. Diana Coffee “Let’s Skip Christmas This Year”
21. Jacquie “Have I Told You?”
22. The Texas Gentlemen “Christmas With You”
23. Joey Dosik “Be Thankful”
24. Adrian Younge “The Saddest Christmas Tree (feat. Voices of Gemma)”
25. Taliwhoah “Gift of Love”
Amazon Music will also be adding three new songs to its Amazon Original playlist, All is Bright. A trio of superstars and exciting newcomer, Abi Ann, join the Amazon Original playlist today. GRAMMY, CMA, and ACM award-winning vocal powerhouse
Lee Ann Womack is joined by the icon himself, Willie Nelson, on an incredibly charming version of “Baby It’s Cold Outside,” while singer-songwriter and bona fide pop star, Leona Lewis offers a cozy, stripped-down take on her own “One More Sleep.” Lewis says, “I was so excited to record an acoustic version of ‘One More Sleep,’ the song actually originally sounded more like this when we first worked on it, really soulful and stripped back. Writing an original Christmas song was something I always wanted to do, growing up so many of my favorite artists had Christmas albums so this song really is a dream come true. I love the way it embodies the spirit of Christmas in such a fun way.’” Lastly but not to be outdone, Abi Ann gives adds her coy reading of “Santa Baby” to the playlist for 2017.
New tracks on “All Is Bright” include:
1. Lee Ann Womack “Baby, It’s Cold Outside (feat. Willie Nelson)”
2. Leona Lewis “One More Sleep”
3. Abi Ann “Santa Baby”
For a limited time, non-Prime members as well as Prime members who haven’t yet tried Amazon Music Unlimited, can get three months of the full catalog on-demand service with access to tens of millions of songs, for just $0.99. To learn more, visit the website.