Today, three-time Grammy-winner Bruce Hornsby has announced the coming release of a brand new album, Absolute Zero, set to be released on April 12th.

Predominantly produced by Hornsby, the 10-track album includes added production from Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Tony Berg (Phoebe Bridgers, Andrew Bird, Public Image Ltd.) and Brad Cook (Sharon Van Etten, Hiss Golden Messenger). The new album also includes musical contributions from Justin Vernon, yMusic, The Staves, Blake Mills, Jack DeJohnette, Sean Carey, The Orchestra Of St. Hanks (Frost School/University of Miami), Hornsby’s longtime band The Noisemakers, and more. The album also includes “Take You There (Misty)”, a track co-written by Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter, continuing Hornsby’s longtime connection with the jam forefathers.

Related: Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers Announce 3-Night Spring Run

According to the album’s announcement press release, Absolute Zero‘s origins come from Hornsby’s work as a film composer for writer-director Spike Lee. Hornsby started collaborating with Lee in 1992 and began scoring for him last year. “What began to intrigue him were scoring components known as “cues,” those comparatively brief passages of music used in films to heighten certain narrative visuals and/or spoken developments. Additionally, Hornsby’s interest in literary fiction, specifically the work of Don DeLillo and the late David Foster Wallace, inspired his songwriting. Hornsby’s songs, both in spirit and memory, function collectively as an homage to fiction writing that, while often poetic, takes no prisoners. The multi-faceted album is another example of Hornsby’s constant musical evolution and how he’s able to combine disparate elements into an accessible soundscape.”

Along with the album’s announcement, Bruce Hornsby has shared the first single from the release, the cosmically layered, string-centric dance track “Voyage One”. Give it a listen below:

Bruce Hornsby ft. yMusic – “Voyager One” – Lyric Video

[Video: Bruce Hornsby]

Bruce Hornsby – Absolute Zero – Track List

1. Absolute Zero (featuring Jack DeJohnette)
2. Fractals
3. Cast Off (featuring Justin Vernon and Sean Carey)
4. Meds (featuring Justin Vernon, Blake Mills and Rob Moose)
5. Never In This House (featuring yMusic and The Staves)
6. Voyager One (featuring yMusic)
7. Echolocation
8. The Blinding Light Of Dreams (featuring yMusic)
9. White Noise
10. Take You There (Misty) (featuring yMusic)

View Tracklisting

For all of the details about Absolute Zero including how to pre-order, head here.

For a full list of Bruce Hornsby’s upcoming tour dates, head to his website here.